LT Holst Andrea and Brooke Edgecome –  Photo Credit Belinda Pratt


Brooke Edgecombe figured she had nothing to lose coming into a very competitive EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix jump-off at the Wairarapa Showjumping and Show Hunter Championships in Masterton.

Seven of the original 17 starters came back to once again be challenged by the Gary Sinclair-designed course. Brooke (Waipukurau) and LT Holst Andrea were third to go. Ahead of her Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) and Waitangi Skynet had set a zippy time in their clear round. “She had gone pretty quick, as she does and I thought I had to try and beat her. These young ‘uns! I thought I just had to give it a go.”

And they did, flying home in 36.56 seconds to Sophie’s 36.85 with Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) aboard Fiber Fresh Chesall third in 37.2.

“I really wasn’t sure I had done enough,” says Brooke. “It was one of the most competitive Grand Prix of the season with some excellent combinations in there, but Andrea is good . . . she is consistent and feeling good.”

While Brooke isn’t one to chase the EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix Series, she and Andrea are leading the pack.

“It’s been a challenging season which almost feels like a bit of an anti-climax now with no Takapoto or Horse of the Year Show,” she says. “You just have to reset your goals.”

She and a handful of other riders are contemplating a trip across the Tasman to compete at a number of shows. “We had a good trip there last year, so we will look to target a handful of shows and see when that may fit in.”
The Grand Prix victory rounded out a good show for Brooke who picked up a first equal in the East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series class aboard her new horse Indiana Xtreme in their first outing together. “Hopefully she can take over from Andrea in the future. She is talented and has a good brain . . . and a lot of the same attributes as Andrea, so that is something to look forward to.”

South Islander Harriet Laing (Canterbury) headed home the 11-strong Country TV Pony Grand Prix class. Four came back for the jump-off with Harriet aboard Springvale Tama and Chloe Roylance (New Plymouth) with Tallyho Cleopatra both double clear however Harriet’s 37.8 second effort was just over two seconds faster than Chloe.

Chris Rogers was the designer in ring two and Warren Ives in ring three at the two day show which was held at the Solway Showgrounds in Masterton.


Results –


Showjumping, EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix Series: Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Andrea 1, Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) Waitangi Skynet 2, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Fiber Fresh Chesall 3, Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Ariados 4, Jesse Linton (Hastings) Kings Larkin 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Central Park 6.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series: Harriet Laing (Canterbury) Springvale Tama 1, Chloe Roylance (New Plymouth) Tallyho Cleopatra 2, Tessa Mason (Napier) Mr Acho 3, Penny Borthwick (Masterton) Foxden’s Merlot 4, Penny Borthwick (Masterton) Rednalhgih Cowan 5, Sarah Nelson (Taupo) Phantom Warrior 6.


Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series: Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) Joopiter 1, Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) Benrose Casino ECPH 2, Ash Hart (Hastings) Kiwi Windfall 3, Sam Carrington (Takapau) Double J Hurricane 4, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) Royal Wish 5, Kirk Myers (Hawera) Blueray 6.


UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series: Rachel Nelson (Havelock North) Good Tune NZPH 1.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Indiana Xtreme, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Central Zone, Charlotte Conder (Wellington) Centarosa, Tara Gower (Ohura) Riverhills Legend, Brigitte Smith (Mangaweka) Kiwi Capitol Hill, Dirk Waldin (Havelock North) Lagertha VWNZ, Isabella Narracci (Hastings) Haupouri Hollywood NZPH, Hana Bognuda (Hunterville) WSJ Cool Heart, Claire Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Swipe Right, Sam Carrington (Takapau) Double J Odin and Ash Hart (Hastings) Kiwi Mist =1.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Hollie Falloon (Masterton) Just Jessie 1, Chantelle Smith (Palmerston North) Glentai Mockingjay 2, Macy Heaton (Hastings) T n T 3, Tara Gower (Ohura) Riverhills Bayliner 4, Kimberly Carrington (Takapau) Double J Barmaid 5, Milly Waldin (Havelock North) U Can Dance NZPH 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Nigel Horton (Kumeroa) Mandalay Cove 1, Harvey Nelson (Havelock North) Ngahiwi Loone 2, Rachel Nelson (Havelock North) Ocean Lady 3, Ali Hilton (Upper Hutt) Willowridge Surprise 4, Janine Kirkbeck (Otaki) 5, Sarah Dalziell-Clout (Masterton) Thornfield Ana 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series: Bailey Rutter (Wairarapa) Henton Serenade 1, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 2, Laura Hutterd (Taranaki) Kiwi Mana 3, Brigitte Smith (Mangaweka) HR Lanardo 4, Noni Morgan (Hastings) Starlight Discovery 5, Trevor Pearce ( ) Redcliffs Kachow 6.


FMG Young Rider Series: Tara Gower (Ohura) Double J Image 1, Sam Carrington (Takapau) Double J Breeze On 2, Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) Wenrose Vertigo 3, Tyla Hackett (Waiuku) Eye Candy 4, Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) Lakota 5, Tyla Hackett (Waiuku) Global PH Cocofino 6.


Main-Events Tertiary Series: Alexandra Mitchell (Wellington) Keltern William 1, Samantha Megchelse (New Plymouth) Rata Mill Eclipse 2, Jennalee Rose (Dannevirke) Lulu 3, Ike Baker (Hawke’s Bay) NW Conrado 4.


Show Hunter, NRM Open High Points Series: Hazel Jones (Plimmerton) Atlan 1, Antonio Matangi (Levin) Shoeshine Polish 2.


Aniwell Cat C High Points: Kaitlin Brown (Wairoa) Tawa 1, Emily McMaster (Greytown) Onetai Cover Girl 2, Bridie King (Pahiatua) Buzzie Bees Max 3, Bridie King (Pahiatua) Puketawa Celtic Legend 4, Lottie Bull (Atiamuri) Spritzer 5.       


Hokonui Sport Horses Cat A High Points: Lily Kent (Waipawa) Ataahua Rapture 1, Sophia Neale (Palmerston North) Petal 2, Poppy Tatham (Masterton) Nikau Rockstar 3, Katherine Walker (Paraparaumu) Avataare 4.


Bay of Plenty and Waikato Show Hunter Groups 12 and under Equitation Series: Kate Procter (Palmerston North) Trevellyn Blue Bell 1, Lily Kent (Waipawa) Ataahua Rapture 2, Sophia Neale (Palmerston North) Petal 3, Demi Easton (Levin) Matai SB 4.


Fiber Fresh Cat B High Points Series: Kate Procter (Palmerston North) Trevellyn Blue Bell 1, Emily Oliver (Kapiti Coast) Mr Mika Choo 2, Poppy Tatham (Masterton) Wembleybrook O Driscoll 3, Regan Calder (Norsewood) Bingley Emily 4, Isabella Behrns (Wairarapa) Boscabelle Bows Irish Jig 5.


ESNZ Show Hunter Pony Equitation Series: Kaitlin Brown (Wairoa) Tawa 1, Bridie King (Pahiatua) Buzzie Bees Max 2, Regan Calder (Norsewood) Bingley Emily 3, Emily McMaster (Greytown) Onetai Cover Girl 4, Leah Harre (New Plymouth) Tallyho Rainman 5.


Sport Horse Junior High Points Series: Hazel Jones (Plimmerton) Atlan 1, Meg Rogers (Ashhurst) Corodano 2, Sophie Hayes (Wellington) Moulin Rouge 3, Jordan Blakeley (Otaki) Elation KCE 4, Tessa Mason (Napier) Cortaflex Giulia MH 5.


Carousel Equestrian Amateur High Points Series: Antonio Matangi (Levin) My Delta 1, Antonio Matangi (Levin) Shoeshine Polish 2, Rebecca Greaves (Pongaroa) Titoki 3, Sarah Milne (Levin) Milburn Magnitude 4, Antonio Matangi (Levin) Marua 5.


ESNZ Show Hunter Junior Equitation Series: Olivia Woodward (Palmerston North) Whittaker II 1, Sophie Hayes (Wellington) Moulin Rouge 2, Vianne Downs (Greytown) Leandro Bay 3, Hazel Jones (Plimmerton) Sancho 4.


Petticoat Lane Performance Horses Adult Equitation Series: Sarah Milne (Levin) Milburn Magnitude 1, Diana Cottle (Palmerston North) Travino 2, Antonio Matangi (Levin) Shoeshine Polish 3.


For full results, head to


Jumping Team 28 February 2022