It was locals only at the Northland Area Grand Prix Show but that didn’t hinder a fun couple of days of competition.

Show secretary Heather Deane says after the Labour Weekend weather bomb hit it was nice to be able to still offer the event, even though still for locals only with a hard border between the region and Auckland.

“Adding the new COVID framework and running with vax certificates starting the day before the show added one extra bit of admin to the already extra amount of organising events to run safely in multiple bubbles, the committee pulled off an enjoyable and well attended event with lots of happy riders,” said Heather. “The weather and ground conditions were perfect, with some amazing jumping over the two days.” 

Cassie Topper (Whangarei) and Redcliffs Wizz Bang MF took out the Country TV Pony Grand Prix class. Isabelle Jameson (Whangarei) was first and third in the FMG Young Rider Series class with Kiwi Storm and Di Caprio CSNZ, with Amy Gravatt (Whangarei) winning the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series class with Totaranui Ripslinger, Hayley Fergusson (Tutukaka Coast) and Code-Air the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series class and the Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series was won by Helen McGrath (Northland) on Millie P.

The show ran over two days and was held at the Barge Showgrounds. Neville Edge designed the courses in ring one, Heather Deane in ring two and Mac McPherson in ring three.

“We are looking forward to welcoming riders back to the area soon,” said Heather.

Results –

Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series: Cassie Topper (Whangarei) Redcliffs Wizz Bang MF 1.

FMG Young Rider Series: Isabelle Jameson (Whangarei) Kiwi Storm 1, Maddison Greatorex (Waipu) Daisy Duke NZPH 2, Isabelle Jameson (Whangarei) Di Caprio CSNZ 3.

Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Amy Gravatt (Whangarei) Totaranui Ripslinger 1, Ashley Johnston (Whangarei) Miss Vee NZPH 2, Dana Hawkins (Whangarei) Gothenburg 3, Megan Finlayson (Waimate North) Robbie Robinson 4.

Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Hayley Fergusson (Tutukaka Coast) Code-Air 1, Cassie Topper (Whangarei) Cavalli Vista Coachello 2.

Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series: Helen McGrath (Northland) Millie P 1, Kristine Leonard (Northland) Annie’s Lane 2, Joy McNeill (Whangarei) Incentive 3, Natasha Imeson (Northland) Absolute NZPH 4.


Jumping Team

December 6, 2021