ESNZ have announced the senior and young rider teams to contest the Oceania Eventing Challenge at next week’s Land Rover Horse of the Year Show.

Olympic hopeful Maddy Seivwright and Waitangi Pinterest spearhead the CCI4*-S senior team, joining Charlotte Penny aboard Festival, Christen Lane on Bellhaven Cumbria and Donna Edwards-Smith with DSE Henton for Glory.

The CCI3*-S young rider team comprises Bridie Quigley on Oranna Grayson, Mackenzie Marlo aboard CHS Diplomat, Mia Gilbert on Schnapps MH and Scout Lodder with Overnight Success.

ESNZ general manager of high performance Jock Paget is confident the “two good teams” will produce some exciting competition. “We are expecting the Chris Ross tracks to be a real test at both levels,” said Jock. “The opportunity to compete for New Zealand in this championship is a real privilege for our Southern Hemisphere combinations and a great way to condition themselves for future championship representation. We have a great support team for these riders with a lot of international experience. We are all looking forward to getting back to the atmosphere at LRHOY and experiencing this competition after such a long wait.”

There is a big contingent of Australian combinations crossing the Tasman for LRHOY, with three individuals as well as the team making the trip with their horses. The competition starts on Friday with the dressage, with Saturday’s cross country bringing the rest of the showgrounds to a halt for everyone to enjoy, and culminating with the showjumping on Sunday.

Australia will be keen to hold on to the title they won at the Melbourne International Three Day Event in 2022 – the last time the challenge was held – and will surely look to reclaim the young rider crown that went the way of the Kiwis.

The trans-Tasman dates back to 1985 when the first one was held in Gawler. The New Zealand senior team – comprising Tinks Pottinger on Volunteer, Trudy Boyce with Mossman, Karen Tweedie aboard Sandalwood, and Judith Charleston on High Rate – came home with the title in their hot little hands.

Over the years, New Zealand has won the senior crown 11 times, with Australia the victors seven times. The young rider clash has not been held as often, but the tally is tied up five apiece.

The Teams have been kindly sponsored by Saddle and Canter ( who have ensured they will be looking the part in the supplied team uniforms.  Make sure you pay them a visit at LRHOY at stand A20.

Charlotte Penny (Auckland ) Festival
Christen Lane (Hawke’s Bay) Bellhaven Cumbria
Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata) DSE Henton for Glory
Maddy Seivwright (Cambridge) Waitangi Pinterest

Brittany Fowler (Cambridge ) Game Keeper
Charlotte Edwards (Wellington ) Just de Manzana
Diane Gilder (Auckland ) Your Attorney
Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata) DSE Mendoza
Sofie Boswell (Auckland ) Anastasia.

Young Rider
Bridie Quigley (Coatesville ) Oranna Grayson
Mackenzie Marlo (Auckland ) CHS Diplomat
Mia Gilbert (Auckland ) Schnapps MH
Scout Lodder (Ararimu) Overnight Success

Scout Lodder (Ararimu) Kingsguard
Holly McInnes (Palmerston North ) My Royal Spirit.

By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison