Glen Beal and All Expenses of Renton. Photo Credit Hannah Comrie NZSupergroom and Photography

Glen Beal’s attention to detail paid dividends today when the Te Kauwhata accountant steered All Expenses of Renton to a win in the ESNZ Horse Grand Prix at the Prydes EasiFeed Grand Prix Showjumping and Show Hunter Show at Woodhill Sands.

“I went near the end of the class and hadn’t seen anyone else go so it was only when I came out that I realised I was the only one clear in the opening round,” he said. “Jumping in the grass arena at Woodhill is something else – it is just a lovely arena and he loves it so that makes a huge difference.”

Eleven started the class over the Pip Howells-designed course which Glen described as a “really nice track”. “He is a funny quirky little horse but he just keeps trying. I just go out to aim for a clear. We aren’t so good against the clock so the plan is always to leave them up.”

The 14-year-old gelding, who is owned by Trish and Graham MacPherson, is by Wharf’s Son, who is also the sire of top dressage horse Vincent St James. He has been with Glen for three years now. It was his third Grand Prix start for the season and the third time he has been in the money. The victory backed up their win in the Horse Grand Prix Super Series last weekend.

All Expenses of Renton is one of eight horses on the Beal family’s 25 acres. Equestrian is a family sport with Glen, his wife Sarah and children Benjamin and Nicholas all usually heading to shows together. “It is a nice thing to do and the kids have been doing it forever. Benjamin was 10 days old when he went to his first Horse of the Year Show.”

Eight started the Country TV Pony Grand Prix with Megan Bradley (Cambridge) and My Dream Catcher riding off with the win despite taking a single rail in the opening round. Cassie Topper (Whangarei) and Redcliffs Wizz Bang MF was second with Liv Teixeira (Kerikeri) aboard EB Esperanza filling third spot.

The big classes brought the curtain down on another successful two-day show at Woodhill Sands which attracted 400 horses and riders. Gina Moss designed ring two and Wayne Bragg ring three.


Results –

ESNZ Horse Grand Prix (sponsored by Prydes EasiFeed): Glen Beal (Pukekohe) All Expenses of Renton 1, Laura Inkster (Clevedon) Nikama MVNZ 2, Daniel Blundell (Auckland) Cadenza NZPH 3, Georgia Bouzaid (Cambridge) AP Ninja 4, Olivia Dalton (Karaka) Cil Dara Bonaparte 5, Lisa Coupe (Cambridge) Lotte 6.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix (sponsored by Pacific Motor Group): Megan Bradley (Cambridge) My Dream Catcher 1, Cassie Topper (Whangarei) Redcliffs Wizz Bang MF 2, Liv Teixeira (Kerikeri) EB Esperanza 3, Grace Webb (Warkworth) Lay Z Lad 4, Zara Main (Auckland) Blue Crush 5, Amelia Munro (Paremoremo) MF Spot On 6.


Main-Events Tertiary Series: Olivia Forster (Cambridge) Cassino du Domaine 1, Alana Rogers (Waihi) Gruffy 2.


FMG Young Rider Series (sponsored by Burmester Realty): Georgia Bouzaid (Cambridge) AP Ninja 1, Olivia Dalton (Karaka) Cil Dara Bonaparte 2, Emily Hayward (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 3, Sophia Blackbourn (Hamilton) Octavia MVNZ 4, Emily Hayward (Te Awamutu) Centino 5, Caira Manson (Auckland) Waitangi Attachment 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series (sponsored by Outpost Buildings Ltd): Kylee McCambridge (Cambridge) Chicago 1, Abby Fawcett (Ohaupo) Hillman  Hunter 2, Sarah Forman (Auckland) AMS Charlton Catapult 3, Paula Mussen (Pukekohe) Déjà vu NZPH 4, Susie McLeod (Dairy Flat) Arrans Lad 5, Kate Hewlett (Kerikeri) Capatino GNZ 6.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series (sponsored by GJ Gardner): Leeshelle Small (Ramarama) AMS Dolce NZPH 1, Amara Green (Woodhill) LC Underberg 2, Natalia Lammers (Hikurangi) Puro Chaccola 3, Ella De Leeuw (Hamilton) Miss Lindauer 4, Emma Singleton (Ramarama) Equulei Cola Fizz 5, Amelia Newsom (Tauranga) Zoe 6.


Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series (sponsored by Peninsula Medical): Oliver Croucher (Cambridge) Casanova Xtreme 1, Natalia Lammers (Hikurangi) Puro Qualita 2, Deanna Horsburgh (Cambridge) Entourage NZPH 3, Sam Whale (Cambridge) Fleur DeLacour 4.


UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series (sponsored by Alltech): Carissa McCall (Auckland) Picasso MVNZ and Natalia Lammers (Hikurangi) Puro Chaccola =1.


East Coast Five-Year-Old Series (sponsored by Vetpro): Oliver Croucher (Cambridge) Takapoto China, Daniel Blundell (Auckland) She’s Special, Aline Tirant (Cambridge) Takapoto Cartier and Laura McGregor (Auckland) Cavalli GNZ =1.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series (sponsored by GJ Gardner): Kelly Chapman (Albany) Eye See Ruby 1, Ashley Johnston (Whangarei) Miss Vee NZPH 2, Shelley Bridgeman (Auckland) Oaks Vendetta 3, Kelly Chapman (Albany) Indie 4, Kristie Mason (Auckland) Centiare 5, Amelia Clark (Auckland) Master of Hossack 6.


Outpost Buildings Horse Grand Prix Super Series: Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) Takapoto Malarkey 1, Daniel Blundell (Auckland) Athena NZPH 2, Isabelle Jameson (Whangarei) Do Caprio CSNZ 3, Emily Hayward (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 4, Alexa Randall (Auckland) LC Tango 5, Abby Fawcett (Ohaupo) Hillman Hunter 6.


Burmester Realty Pony Grand Prix Super Series: Tess Frost (Kumeu) Cocamo 1, Tess Frost (Kumeu) Redcliffs Give it a Whirl Shirl 2, Zara Preece-Twose (Greenhithe) TC Piano Man 3, Francesca Bishell (Auckland) Galaxy Disco Fever II 4, Francesca Ludbrook (Pakaraka) Moonspirit Goldenbug 5, Cassie Topper (Whangarei) Baltic Leanne 6.

For full results, head to


By Diana Dobson
7 December 2020