Todd Magner riding Awatuna Jonesy, wins his first Equissage Horse Grand Prix at Southland Show Jumping Labour Weekend. Photo Credit Jane Thompson

Show Jumping Canterbury took on a Halloween theme this year at their Labour Weekend Jumping Carnival held at the National Equestrian Centre Mcleans Island. Some riders chose to get into the holiday spirit with spooky costumes seen in the competition ring and a trick or treat social event held on Sunday evening was enjoyed by many.

Todd, a 21 year-old Agricultural Commerce student, has been riding the 12-year-old Awatuna Jonesy for some time now, and the pair have developed a very strong partnership. “This is the first win we have had in Grand Prix,” said Todd afterwards. There will be no time for celebrations however as Todd has an exam to sit tomorrow morning.  Todd is currently based in Christchurch while he is attending university, but original hails from the West Coast.  Fellow West-Coaster, Penny Jones, who owns the Littoria gelding, was on hand to walk the course with Todd and give him some pointers. Penny has coached Todd for many years, from back in Pony Club days, achieving a lot of success in pony club teams events including winning the prestigious NZPCA Eventing Championships.


Molly Buist-Brown and Vali took out the the FMG Young Rider Series Class on day one after a competitive jump off where they were clear in 45.80. Steffi Whittaker and On The Point Eve were second, also clear in 49.26. Caitlin Adams and Hammertime finished third, clear in a time of 55.97.

With four South Island Grand Prix Combinations currently away competing in the North Island the Equissage Horse Grand Prix was reduced to just three starters. Molly Buist-Brown opted to late enter Vali so was first out and produced a beautiful clear round in their debut at this level. Kimberley Bird and Cera Cassina were next out for eight faults and Todd Magner riding Awatuna Jonesy had four faults. The tables were turned in round two with Todd coming home clear in a fast time of 47.21 to finish on a two round total of 4 faults. A rail and slower time of 49.51 for Molly and Vali meant they had to settle for second, giving Todd and the 12yo gelding Awatuna Jonesy their first Grand Prix win. Cera Cassina finished in third place. Todd, a 21 year-old Agricultural Commerce student, has been riding the Awatuna Jonesy for some time now, and the pair have developed a very strong partnership. “This is the first win we have had in Grand Prix,” said Todd afterwards.

The Country TV Pony Grand Prix had nine starters but nobody managed to post a clear in the opening round. Six combinations returned for round two. Three riders who were on eight faults all produced clears in the second round. The fastest of these was Sophie Geddes and Te Ngaio Raggamuffin in 31.14 which was eventually good enough to see them win.  Johanna Wylaars and Wembleybrook Tiffany were second in 33.12. Meg Bisset and Freestyle Twyst & Shout placed third in 34.21. Ruby Rae-Wood and Tallyho Cleopatra were the best to return from round one with four faults but had another rail to finish fourth on a two round total of eight faults with a time of 37.03. This win was Sophie and Te Ngaio Raggamuffins third at Grand Prix level so far this season, following on from a lot of Grand Prix success last season.

Kirsty Sharapoff and Shoot The Breeze had a great weekend winning both the Harrison Lane Pro Am Rider class and the 125cm Championship.

Margaret Ridley and Tallaght won the Dunstan Horse Feeds Amateur Rider double clear in a time of 40.95.  Sonia Mckerchar and Desire NZPH were second, clear in a time of 43.64 with Georgia Reid and Double J Escape third in 44.40.

Sophie Townsend and Kingslea Kiwi added another win to a long list of success when they won the Equifibre Junior Rider Class. It was a close jump off with Sophie finishing in 41.26 just ahead of Molly Moffat and Glenmark’s time of 41.35. Rosa Buist-Brown and Bellick ST were the fastest in 38.18 but had four faults to place third.

Steffi Whittaker and On The Point Eve won the Tavern Harewood Horse Mini Prix with the only clear round and it was a similar story in the Mainland Coachwork Pony Mini Prix where Bella Taane and Kennebrook Jester were the winners also posting the only clear round of the class.

Lex Peddie was the course designer in Ring One. Tony Hutton designed Ring Two and Geoff Bryant was in Ring Three.


Equissage in conjunction with Kinloch Farms Horse Grand Prix Series

1st – AWATUNA JONESY & Todd Magner

2nd – VALI & Molly Buist-Brown

3rd – CERA CASSINA & Kimberley Bird


Country TV in conjunction with Saddlery Barn Pony Grand Prix Series

1st – TE NGAIO RAGGAMUFFIN & Sophie Geddes

2nd – WEMBLEYBROOK TIFFANY & Johanna Wylaars

3rd – FREESTYLE TWYST & SHOUT & Meg Bisset

4th – TALLYHO CLEOPATRA & Ruby Rae-Wood




FMG Young Rider Series

1st – VALI & Molly Buist-Brown

2nd – ON THE POINT EVE & Steffi Whittaker

3rd – HAMMERTIME & Caitlin Adams

4th – FINCH FARM LASALL & Makenzie Causer

5th – AWATUNA JONESY & Todd Magner

6th – EURO CHAMPAYNE & Jaimee Bird


Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series

1st – SHOOT THE BREEZE & Kirsty Sharapoff

2nd – WESTGROVE GNZ & Katie Meredith

3rd – DOLLY NZPH & Kirstin Beaven

4th – ICEY STORM & Lauren Buckley

5th – SD AMOUROSI & Rebecca Smithy

6th – NGAHIWI DOUBLE CROSS & Katie Meredith

7th – EMILIO MSH & Jess Land


Dunstan Horsefeeds in conjunction with Tavern Harewood Amateur Rider Series

1st – TALLAGHT & Margaret Ridley

2nd – DESIRE NZPH & Sonia Mckerchar

3rd – DOUBLE J ESCAPE & Georgia Reid

4th – LUCIUS GNZ & Jordan Murray

5th – GRAVEL HILL & Michal Wells

6th – ROLUX & David Hutton


Equifibre Junior Rider Series

1st – KINGSLEA KIWI & Sophie Townsend

2nd – GLENMARK & Molly Moffatt

3rd – BELLICK ST & Rosa Buist-Brown

4th – FLIRTINI & Margot Curtis

5th – ICEBREAKER II & Anna Nalder

6th – SEA MINOR & Beth Coleman


Matthews Hanovarians 7 year Old Series

1st – DOLLY NZPH & Kirstin Beaven


Cheleken & Ultramox in conjunction with Hazlett Rural 6 Year Old Series

1st – WINDERMERE LION HEART & Sarah Parkes

1st – MOJITO GNZ & Emma Power

1st – BELLICK ST & Rosa Buist-Brown


East Coast Performance Horses in conjunction with Canterbury Equine Clinic 5 Year Old Series

1st – QUANTICO GNZ & Makenzie Causer

1st – TMS TULIP & Tessa Silcock

1st – AUGUSTUS B & Tamara Silcock

1st – WILDHEART & Sophie Townsend

1st – VULCAN GNZ & Katie Meredith


Tavern Harewood Horse Mini Prix Series

1st – ON THE POINT EVE & Steffi Whittaker

2nd – SILVERSMITH & Amy McMullan

3rd – WESTGROVE GNZ & Katie Meredith

4th – ICEY STORM & Lauren Buckley

5th – NGAHIWI DOUBLE CROSS & Katie Meredith


Mainland Coachwork Pony Mini Prix Series

1st – KENNEBROOK JESTER & Bella Taane

2nd – DINGMAC DISCO KING & Johanna Wylaars

3rd – TALLYHO MAESTRO & Hanna Lowe

4th – GLENARDEN SKY HIGH & Molly Moffatt

5th – CODE SPREE & Hanna Lowe

6th – TUI’S TENNESSEE & Sophie Pickens


Equi-lise Pony Points 1.10m Series

1st – MISSING PIECES & Summer Borrie

2nd – ITS A GAMBLE & Caitlin Moran

3rd – MOON SPIRIT TREASURE & Josie Greer

4th – HARRISON JAMES & Chloe Martin

5th – ACE & Lily Plunkett

6th – MR BLACK MAGIC & Molly Smith


ConcretePower in conjunction with SJ Canterbury Junior Amateur Rider

1st – DOMINO NZPH & Katie Gerrets

2nd – IGNITION & Olivia Shinn

3rd – COROFINA ECPH & Courtney Townsend

4th – PORTOBELLO REGAZZA & Margot Curtis

5th – SISTERS II GRANDEUR & Kirk Magner

6th – DARVEL LAURA & Caitlyn Kennington


By Jane Thompson

29 October 2019