The Otago Area ESNZ World Challenge show held at the Otago Taieri Showgrounds in Mosgiel managed to escape the worst of the polar blast at the weekend. Committee and local members setup in sleety conditions on Friday but were lucky with improving conditions over the weekend and only a cold southerly wind remained. Donella Still designed in the Mainland Coachwork Ring 1, Emma Barker was in the More FM Ring 2 and Mark Whelan designed the Omega Feeds Ring 3.


First up in ring one on Saturday morning was the first South Island Round of the NZ FEI World Challenge, sponsored by Equine Essential. Only six combinations started this class but competition was strong with four clear first rounds. All combinations returned for round two where Tayler Nalder and Icebreaker II were the only ones to remain on zero faults to claim the win. Nicole White and Lil Leroux finished second, Tyler McKee and Stratos third, and Lauren Buckley and Icey Storm fourth, all finishing on four fault totals. Seventeen year old Tayler from Cust, North Canterbury will defend her lead this Sunday in round two at the Canterbury Labour Weekend Show Jumping Carnival. The final round of the South Island FEI World Challenge will be hosted by SCNO at Waimate on the 1st December.    


First up for National series classes on Saturday was the Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Pro-Am. Out first in the jump off, Lauren Buckley and Icey Storm finishing double clear in a fast time of 41.24, which sealed them the win. Amanda Roy and Cazette HSH also finished clear in a time of 54.44 for second, while Kimberleigh McCabe and Kace produced the fastest time of 40.46 but dropped a rail to finish third.  Local rider Talia Allison and Mustang Shelby won the Hinterland Amateur Rider with the only clear round.      


In the FMG Young Rider class there weren’t any clear first rounds so there was a four fault jump off between local rider Kate Beattie on Smartymarty and Mackenzie Causer and Lasall. Both riders again had a rail in the jump off but Kate finished almost four seconds faster to take the win. The Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Junior Rider was a similar story and the results were also decided on a four fault jump off. Out last of the four combinations jumping off Caitlin Adams and Hammertime produced the only clear round to win.


Tegan Fitzsimon and the eight year old Corofino II gelding Windermere Cappuccino took out the Equissage Horse Grand Prix with a double clear round. Four faults in the first round saw Nicole White and LC Samson finished second, with Tegan and Double J Monarch third. Kimberley Bird took the quinella in the Cavalleria Toscana horse Mini Prix with Cera Cassina and Euro Champayne.


Ella Wylie and Mf Spot Me won the Country TV Pony Grand Prix and Emma Gillies and Benrose Playtime won the Canterbury Saddlery Pony Mini Prix.


Equine Essential NZ FEI World Challenge, South Island Round 1

1st Icebreaker II – Tayler Nalder (Canterbury)

2nd Lil Leroux – Nicole White (Southland)

3rd Stratos – Tyler McKee (Southland)

4th Icey Storm – Lauren Buckley (Otago)

5th Renoir NZPH – Emma Waite (Ashburton)

Best Presented: Stratos – Tyler McKee (Southland)


FMG Young Rider Series 125-135cm

1st  Smartymarty – Kate Beattie (Otago)

2nd Lasall – Makenzie Causer (Canterbury)

3rd RH Kukumoa – Olivia Brown (Otago)


Hinterland Amateur Rider Series 110-120cm

1st Mustang Shelby – Talia Allison (Otago)

2nd Kuriwao Hawke – Jess Paul (Otago)

3rd Glenbrooke All Roses – Tanya Davies (Otago)

4th The Affair – Bonnie Foley (Otago)

5th Astek Reveal – Jayne Beattie (SCNO)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider Series 115-125cm

1st Hammertime – Caitlin Adams (Canterbury)

2nd Icebreaker II – Tayler Nalder (Canterbury)

3rd Mr Gregory – Pippa Collins (Otago)

4th Elleway GNZ – Makenzie Causer (Canterbury)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Pro-Am Rider Series 120-130cm

1st Icey Storm – Lauren Buckley (Otago)

2nd  Cazette HSH – Amanda Roy (Southland)    

3rd Kace – Kimberley McCabe (Southland)

4th  Truly Unique – Rik van Miltenburg (Southland)

5th Beaumont Geldolf – Abby Hore (Otago)

6th Lumarzo – Tyler McKee (Southland)   


Equissage Horse Grand Prix Series 140-150cm

1st Windermere Cappuccino – Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury)

2nd LC Samson – Nicole White (Southland)

3rd Double J Monarch – Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury)


Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series 120-130cm

1st MF Spot Me – Ella Wylie (Southland)

2nd Bizzie Canoodling – Noah Coutts (Otago)

3rd Mr Black Magic – Olivia Adams (Canterbury)

4th Waiotahi Belle – Pippa Collins (Otago)


Canterbury Saddlery Pony Mini Prix Series

1st Benrose Playtime – Emma Gillies (SCNO)

2nd  Mangakaraa Carbon Copy – Anna Nalder (Canterbury)

3rd Burma Milly – Ella Wylie (Southland)

4th Maroa Kobie Breeze – Sophie Sinclair (Southland)

5th Benrose Golden Ticket – Samantha Gillies (SCNO)


Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix Series

1st  Cera Cassina – Kimberley Bird (Ashburton)

2nd Euro Champayne – Kimberley Bird (Ashburton)

3rd Alacazam MH – Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury)

4th Lil Leroux – Nicole White (Southland)

5th Truly Unique – Rik van Miltenburg (Southland)

6th Kace – Kimberley McCabe (Southland) 


Excel Equine Open Pony 2 Phase 120cm

1st Sweet Cappuccino – Olivia Adams (Canterbury)

2nd Benrose Playtime – Emma Gillies (SCNO)

3rd Benrose Golden Ticket – Samantha Gillies (SCNO)

4th Mr Black Magic – Olivia Adams (Canterbury)

5th Waiotahi Belle – Pippa Collins (Otago)


Lynette Harris Open Horse 130cm

1st Windermere Cappuccino – Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury)

2nd Double J Monarch – Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury)

3rd Lil Leroux – Nicole White (Southland)

4th Stratos – Tyler McKee (Southland)

5th Euro Champayne – Kimberley Bird (Ashburton)


Story by Anna Douglass