

# DRAFT Minutes of the ESNZ Jumping Board Meeting Sunday 10<sup>th</sup> July 2016 James Cook Hotel

Present: Richard Sunderland Chair RS

Malcom McKee Vice Chair MM Jan Hunt Member JH Jenny Booth Member JB Glen Hicks GH Member Maurice Beatson Riders Representative MB Trudi Duncan Show Hunter Representative TD

In Attendance: Dana Kirkpatrick Jumping Director JD

Bailey McCormack Jumping Administrator BM

Apologies: RE

**Board only time: 12.30-12.50pm** 

JD and BM invited into the meeting.

## **Subcommittee and Portfolio Appointments**

Positions for the roles of Chair and Vice Chair of the board for the next 12 months were voted on as follows:

Motion to nominate Richard Sunderland to remain as Chair of the ESNZ Jumping Board:

Moved: MM Seconded: MB

Motion to nominate Malcolm McKee to remain as Vice Chair of the ESNZ Jumping Board: Vice Chair

Moved: MM Seconded: JB

THE ALLOCATION OF PORTFOLIOS WAS DISCUSSED AND VOTED ON AS FOLLOWS:

#### **Finance Portfolio**

Motion to nominate Jan Hunt and Glen Hicks to make up a sub-committee for finance:

Moved: RS Seconded: JB

#### **Performance Portfolio**

Motion for Richard Sunderland to remain as chair of the Performance Subcommittee

Moved: MM

Seconded: TD

Motion for Jan Hunt to join the Performance Subcommittee:

Moved: MM

Seconded: RS

The Performance Committee is now made up of the following members:

Richard Sunderland Chair

Jeff McVean Performance Leader
Kaye Williams Committee Member
Jan Hunt Committee Member

### **Technical Portfolio**

Motion for Malcolm McKee to remain as Chair of the Technical Subcommittee:

Move: MB

Seconded: JH

#### **FEI Portfolio**

Motion for Maurice Beatson to remain as chair of the FEI Subcommittee

Moved: MM

Seconded: JH

### **Health and Safety Portfolio**

Discussion was had around the purpose of this new portfolio. It was decided this portfolio is best aligned with the Planning Subcommittee.

Motion for Jenny Booth to assist the Jumping Director with the portfolio of Health and Safety:

Moved:

Seconded:

#### **Grounds Portfolio**

Discussion was had around what to do with this portfolio now that Chris Shore no longer sits on the Jumping Board. It was agreed that Chris Shore could remain in the role as the grounds representative for the South Island while Craig Booth will represent the North Island.

It was agreed to take this motion to the AGA.

### **Sponsorship Portfolio**

It was agreed that this portfolio is best suited to remain with the Jumping Director.

It was noted that each portfolio coordinator/leader can add people into these committees as long as it is run past the board.

Motion to co-opt Ray Egarr back on the board to complete the ESNZ Jumping General Regulations

Moved: MB Seconded: JH

#### **FEI Committee:**

#### Motion for the FEI Committee to remain the same - made up of the following members:

Maurice Beatson Chair

Fiona Bentley Judges Representative

Ray Egarr Steward General Representative

Jeff McVean High Performance

John Pearce Northern HB Representative
Kerry Willets Waikato Representative
Tony Bult Waitemata Representative

Moved: MB Seconded: RS

#### **Technical Committee:**

Motion for the Technical Committee to remain the same except Audrey Cameron is to be removed and replaced with Megan Myers. Committee will be made up of the following members:

Malcom McKee Chair
Fiona Bentley Member
Maurice Beatson Member
Megan Myers Member

Peter Morris Member
Ray Eggar Member
Roger Laplanche Member
Mandy Illston Member
Gerrit Beker Member

Moved: MM Seconded: JB

Motion for Fiona Bentley to act as technical Committee chair at the upcoming meeting in the absence of Malcolm McKee:

Moved: MM Seconded: RS

### **Jumping Representatives:**

Motion for Malcolm McKee to continue as Jumping's representative on the ESNZ Board:

Moved: RS Seconded: JB

Motion for Chris Shore to be nominated as Jumping Representative for McLeans Island NEC (to be approved at the ESNZ AGA):

Moved: MM: Seconded: RS

Motion for Jenny and Craig Booth to be Jumping's representatives at Taupo NEC (to be approved at the ESNZ AGA):

Moved: RS Seconded: MB

### **Matters Arising:**

• The pressing issue of the new Health and Safety legislation and the huge task it presents was discussed. JD noted there is the opportunity for a peer review later on, but at this stage ESNZ is not in a position to bring in a consultant. It was also noted that the Jumping Board has the duty of care but is not ultimately responsible if an incident occurred – but the first step is to ensure work begins as soon as possible at each level.

- The role of publicity officers and in particular the South Island position now that Annie Studholme is gone was discussed.
- Developing a communications strategy for the whole organization was also raised. JD noted these tasks are the list of things to do, but not the most pressing. It was agreed to put this topic on the table to discuss further at next board meeting.
- The decision to co-opt Ray Egarr onto the board for another year was made. It was noted that members will need to be notified of Ray Egarr's appointment.

### **Committee Reports**

#### **FEI Committee**

- It was noted that the FEI Committee had a meeting on the 9<sup>th</sup> of July during the AGM. Fiona Bentley will look at the rules around restricted areas at World Cup events which will come back to the board to be approved.
- Expressions of interest need to go out to all areas needs to host the next World Cup events:
   MM suggests having similar dates to last year for the World Cup events.

#### **General Business**

 TD noted that Show Hunter would like to request all HOY titles are recognized on the official trophies list.

Amateur Show Hunter of the Year Junior Show Hunter of the Year

Denise Crispe Memorial Trophy
Double O Eight Trophy

Moved: TD Seconded: RS

- JD noted the Jumping Growth Plan needs renewing. This is to be sent out by JD and assessed by the board.
- TiES Series conditions need to be discussed at the next board meeting.
- JD requests to be given more notice for board meeting agenda items so there is more time to prepare documents.
- MB requests that series classes at Horse of the Year are put on the show dates card.

### Horse of the Year Show 2017

It was noted that HOY requires a major programme change.

- JD discusses the new equestrian committee for HOY which is to be made up of all disciplines. JD is chairing this committee with its purpose being to get better processes and systematic management in place.
- The role of who is best suited to sit on this board as the Jumping Representative was discussed.

Motion for Kaye Williams to represent Jumping at the HOY Equestrian Committee and be supported by a working committee:

Moved: RS

Seconded: TD

Motion for the Jumping Working subcommittee to have a Show Hunter representative:

Moved: TD

Seconded: RS

# **Technical Delegates**

Motion to accept Technical Delegate nominations that have been received so far:

Malcolm McKee
Pauline Quigley
Mark Whelan
Kath Ward-Smith
Heather McDonald
Peter Morris

Moved: MM

Seconded: JB

Next board meeting scheduled to occur on the 29th September.

Meeting closed at 2pm.