

Minutes of the 14th Annual General Meeting of ESNZ Endurance Held at 1.00pm on Saturday 28th July 2018 At Copthorne Hotel, Palmerston North

1. Welcome

The Chair welcomed members to the 14th Annual General Meeting of ESNZ Endurance. She also welcomed Dana Kirkpatrick, ESNZ General Manager and Kathryn Roberts, ESNZ Board Member. The Chair also congratulated Jenny Champion and Philip Graham on their selection for WEG and wished them all the best for the event.

2. Present

Alison Higgins, Jo Lankow, Heidi Bulfin, Dana Kirkpatrick, Kathryn Roberts, Sue Billigheimer, Marie Wakeling, Stu Wakeling, Mike Bragg, Joanne Loveridge, Sean Trafford, Allan Haigh, Nick Page, Deirdre Bartlett, Emma Tunstall, Phil Tunstall, Wendy Farnell, Beth Guest, Ron Guest, Murray Smith, Andrea Smith, Helen Graham, Ursula Keenan, Jane Ferguson, Pip Mutch, Louisa Muir, Susan Reid, Jacqui Mason, Kelly Haywood, Amanda McConachy, Jenny Weston, Brigitte Smith, Petra Paterson, Naomi O'Shaughnessy, Karyn Haigh, Sylvia Ireland, Leanne Ireland, Paula Adams, Sharon Nisbett, Jenny Champion, Lisa Southon, Vicky Whitehead, Scott Whitehead, Ana Whitehead, Kara Ireland, Shelley Churchill, Ross Hill.

3. Apologies

Carla Barakat, Daryl Owen, Shane Dougan, Kevin James, Phillip Higgins, Kirsty Higgins, Tessa Flintoft, Libby Thomson, Ruth Dawber, Les Davie, Maureen Davie, Georgia Smith, Lisa Simpson, Susie Latta, Chris Enstrom, Philip Graham, Helen Bray, Louise Holmes, Robyn Mills, Maeve McLellan, Robert Reid, Sian Reid, Emma Mason, Jo Foster, Sarah Addy, Petria Haigh, Roger Ireland, John Stevenson, Debbie Morris, Tayla Morris, Frank Aldridge, Hanna Whitehead.

Moved: Jenny Weston/Susan Reid

4. Obituaries

The AGM held a minutes silence to remember members who had passed away during the year.

5. Minutes

The AGM considered the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 22nd July 2017 and agreed that the minutes were a true and accurate record of proceedings.

Moved: Sharon Nisbett/Sylvia Ireland

6. Matters Arising from the Minutes

No matters arising.

7. Chairman's Report

The Chair moved that her report for the 2017-2018 season be adopted.

Moved: Alison Higgins/Deirdre Bartlett

8. Financial Report

Treasurer, Sharon Nisbett spoke to her report and noted the following:

Proposed increases on start fees (open/graded) and levies 80km and over.

Read letter from ESNZ that explained the historical error on the balance sheet.

The Board is very aware of the recent financial loss and are taking measures to rectify this for the next financial year.

Some of the face to face Board meetings will be replaced with conference calls to help reduce expenses.

Grant applications in 2017/18 and in the financial year to date have been unsuccessful and the other ESNZ disciplines are also finding it difficult to secure sponsorship and grant funding.

Due to the loss and current financial position the Board is unable to contribute towards the individual riders going to WEG.

Question asked regarding the profit from officials courses There is only one account and all income is deposited into that account and coded accordingly.

The Treasurer moved that her financial report for the 2017-2018 season be adopted and that the proposed changes to ride levies and start fees be accepted.

Moved: Sharon Nisbett/Jane Ferguson

9. Technical Committee & Officials Training Panel Report

The Chair moved that the TC and OTP reports for the 2017-2018 season be adopted.

Moved: Alison Higgins/Kelly Haywood

10. High Performance Report

The Chair moved that the HP Manager's report for the 2017-2018 season be adopted.

Moved: Alison Higgins/Deirdre Bartlett

11. Election of Board Members

It was noted that there was three vacancies available on the Board and three nominations were received from Sue Billigheimer, Shane Dougan and Daryl Owen.

It was therefore announced that the three nominees be appointed to the Board.

Moved: Alison Higgins/Marie Wakeling

.

12. Technical Committee

Two nominations were received for the Technical Committee (three members):

- Heidi Bulfin
- Murray Smith
- The Endurance Board would appoint a Board member to this Committee following its first meeting of the new Board.

The two nominees were appointed to the Technical Committee

Moved: Alison Higgins/Deirdre Bartlett

13. Setting of Affiliation Fees, Ride Levies and Start Fees

a) Affiliation Fees for 2019-2020

The chair proposed on behalf of the ESNZ Endurance Board that Affiliation fees for 2019-2020 remain as for 2018-2019

Minimum fee per Club - \$175 Plus fee per Club Member - \$10

Moved: Alison Higgins/Kara Ireland

b) Ride Levies for 2018-2019

The chair proposed on behalf of the ESNZ Endurance Board the ride levies for 0-79 km remain as for 2017-2018. And the levies for 80km and longer rides increase.

| 0-25km Lead Rein | - | Zero |
|------------------|---|------------------------------|
| 0 – 25km | - | \$5 |
| 26 – 39km | - | \$10 |
| 40 – 49km | - | \$15 |
| 50 – 59km | - | \$20 |
| 60 – 79km | - | \$26 |
| 80 – 99km | - | \$32 \$3 5 |
| 100 – 119km | - | \$38 \$40 |
| 120 – 139km | - | \$42 \$45 |
| 140km plus | - | \$45 \$50 |

MOVED: Sharon Nisbett/Sylvia Ireland

c) Start Fees for 2018-2019

The chair proposed on behalf of the ESNZ Endurance Board the Novice/Intermediate/CTR Start Fees remain as for 2017-2018 and the Start Fees for Open/Graded horses increase.

Novice/Intermediate/CTR - \$30 Open/Graded - \$50 \$60

Moved Sharon Nisbett/Heidi Bulfin

14. Rule Changes

Dana Kirkpatrick and Kathryn appointed as scrutineers.

The following rule was put forward by the ESNZ Endurance Board for consideration:

Rule Change 1

Number in favour 40 Number against 1 Abstain 1

15. Ride Calendar

No South Island Champs scheduled at this stage but there will be further discussion with the South Island clubs to progress this.

Alison Higgins to go back to Nelson to see if they can provide financial help Wendy Farnell suggested the Nelson, Canterbury, Mackenzie and Mt Nimrod clubs join together to host the South Island Champs.

Move calendar be accepted

Moved Alison Higgins/Sue Billigheimer

16. General Business

Discussion on how to improve the ESNZ Endurance facebook page.

Question on why the budget for the Juniors had been decreased. Has been the same for the past two years. The Junior Committee will need to put in proposals for next year.

17 Close of business

There being no further business, the Chair thanked everyone for attending and closed the meeting at 2.20pm