

Minutes of the 15th Annual General Meeting of ESNZ Endurance Held at 1.00pm on Saturday 6th July 2019 At Redwood Hotel, Christchurch

1. Welcome

The Chair welcomed members to the 15th Annual General Meeting of ESNZ Endurance. She also welcomed Lynda Clark, ESNZ Board member, Don Robertson, ESNZ Board member, and Vicki Glynn, ESNZ Secretary General.

2. Present

Paula Adams, Barbara Avery, Carla Barakat, Sue Billigheimer, Heidi Bulfin, Chris Enstrom, Wendy Farnell, Ian Gray, Allan Haigh, Karyn Haigh, Robyn Hill, Kevin James, Ursula Keenan, Jessica Kennedy, Jo Lankow, Joanne Loveridge, Abbie McLeod, Pip Mutch, Sharon Nisbett, Daryl Owen, Susan Reid, Andrea Rigby, Angela Sloane, Andrea Smith, Murray Smith, Rachel Stocks, Kim Swan, Penelope Valk, Marie Wakeling, Jenny Weston, Ana Whitehead, Hanna Whitehead, Vicky Whitehead, Nick Page, Philip Graham, Helen Bray, Helen Graham, Vicki Glynn

3. Apologies

Shane Dougan, Louisa Muir, Leanne Ireland, Alison Higgins, Phillip Higgins, Rena Johnson, Ruth Dawber, Mike Bragg, Andrea Mason, Jenny Chandler, Richard Armstrong, Ainsley King, Bridgett James, Robert Reid, Sian Reid, Maeve McLellan, Sandra Warren, Sandy Marshall, Susan Latta, Sarah Addy, John Stevenson, David Marshall, Louise Holmes, Lisa Simpson

4. Obituaries

The AGM held a minute of silence to remember members who had passed away during the year.

5. Minutes

The AGM considered the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 28th July 2018 and agreed that the minutes were a true and accurate record of proceedings.

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Sue Billigheimer

6. Matters Arising from the Minutes

No matters arising

7. Chairperson's Report

The Chair moved that her report for the 2018-2019 season be adopted.

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Jenny Weston

It was noted that Mt Nimrod and Mackenzie Clubs had assisted Canterbury Club with the South Island Champs

8. Financial Report

The Treasurer gave a verbal report and spoke on the financial report as presented to the members at the AGM.

It was noted that:

There had been an improvement on last year.

An explanation was given of the makeup of the Sundry items.

Profit from the Nationals Champs contributed significantly to the overall profit. Saving made on Board Meeting expenses due to replacing some of the In Person meeting with Zoom meetings.

The Treasurer moved that her report for the 2018-2019 season be adopted.

Moved: Sharon Nisbett/Sue Billigheimer

Sue Billigheimer, Chair of the Finance Committee, mentioned that the 2019-2020 budget showed deficit of \$13000 so further savings and additional income would be required.

The Board Chair then thanked Sharon for all her hard work throughout the year. The Chair announced that during discussion and review of our current finances and budgeted deficit, the Board agreed to approach Sharon to consider foregoing her honorarium, but was invited to remain on the Finance Committee. Sharon had agreed to this and the Chair thanked her on behalf of the Board for doing so and for her continuation of support for our sport.

Sharon then advised that she was standing down from the role of Treasurer due to the removal of her honorarium. Sharon said this had not been discussed with her, she had just been advised that the honorarium was no longer to be paid and she was given two weeks to advise if she wanted to carry on as treasurer and a member of the Finance Committee. As Sharon still had the end of year financials and grant audits to do she agreed to stay on. She said she would have taken a reduction in her honorarium, if she had been offered this. Sharon said she would stay on until the audit is finalised.

A vote of thanks was made from the floor by Nick Page for the work Sharon had done over the years and Sharon was given a standing ovation.

The Chair moved a vote to thank Sharon.

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Sue Billigheimer

There was further comment from the floor by some members who disagreed with the Board's decision to remove the Treasurer's honorarium.

9. High Performance Report

The Chair moved that the HP Manager's report for the 2018-2019 season be adopted.

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Pip Mutch

10. Technical Committee & Officials Training Panel Report

The Chair moved that the TC and OTP reports for the 2018-2019 season be adopted.

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Heidi Bulfin

11. Election of Board Members

It was noted that there were vacancies available on the Board and three nominations were received from received from Paula Adams, Marie Wakeling and Jenny Weston.

It was therefore announced that Paula Adams, Marie Wakeling and Jenny Weston were elected to the Board.

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Daryl Owen

Nick Page asked if Paula could give a resume' of her background in Endurance. Paula responded with information around where she lived and that she had been a riding member of Endurance for the best part of 20 years. She was then asked by Pip Mutch if she was committed to ESNZ Endurance to which Paula replied that she was committed. She had funded herself through the FEI Officials training and worked at numerous events as an Official this year. She wanted to expand her support of the sport and when invited for applications to stand for a position on the Board, she did so. Carla Barakat then enquired if all members were invited to apply, to which Jo replied yes. A notice went out to all members calling for nominations. Helen Bray then stood and stated she had worked with Paula at the Nationals and said she felt she was a very energetic and practical Official and that ESNZ Endurance was fortunate to have her.

12. Technical Committee

Two nominations were received for the Technical Committee.

- Heidi Bulfin
- Murray Smith
- The Endurance Board would appoint the Board representative for this Committee at the first meeting of the new Board.

The two nominees were elected to the Technical Committee

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Wendy Farnell

13. Setting of Affiliation Fees, Ride Levies and Start Fees

a) Affiliation Fees for 2020/2021

The chair proposed on behalf of the ESNZ Endurance Board that Affiliation fees for 2020-2021 remain as for 2019-2020

b) Ride Levies for 2019-2020

The chair proposed on behalf of the ESNZ Endurance Board that there be no change to the ride levies.

Moved: Marie Wakeling/Sue Billigheimer

c) <u>Start Fees for 2019-2020</u>

The chair proposed on behalf of the ESNZ Endurance Board that there be no change to the Start Fees

Moved Marie Wakeling/Sue Billigheimer

14. Event Calendar

The chair moved the calendar for 2019-2020 be accepted

Moved Marie Wakeling/Rachel Stocks

It was noted that the Mt Nimrod Club had changed their name to Waitaki Endurance and CTR Club and this would be altered on the calendar.

15. General Business

Results System

- Wendy advised that her system would be available to all clubs for approximately \$200 per club.
- A working group has been set up to come up with a system that suits Endurance.
- Working group consists of Dave Hadler, Wendy Farnell, Sue Billigheimer, Jo Lankow, Frank Aldridge, Debbie Morris, and Jenny Chandler.

Website

Members had been asked to send in feedback on the website following comments at the North Island forum that the website wasn't user friendly. No feedback was received but comments from the floor as follows:

- Difficult to find ESNZ address and contact details.
- Difficult to find calendar and rules.
- Have a link on the home page to the calendar and rules
- Flowchart required of where things are on the website.
- Meeting minutes are currently under Strategy and Growth but will most likely be moved to a better place.

ESNZ Board

A question came from the floor asking about the makeup of the ESNZ Board and if the discipline representatives had to be Board members. Currently discipline reps on the ESNZ Board are all discipline Board members.

16. Close of business

There being no further business, the Chair thanked everyone for attending and closed the meeting at 2pm.