

Minutes of the ESNZ Jumping Board Meeting Sunday 10th July 2016 James Cook Hotel

Present:	Richard Sunderland Malcom McKee Jan Hunt Jenny Booth Glen Hicks Maurice Beatson Trudi Duncan	Chair Vice Chair Member Member Riders Representative Show Hunter Representative	RS MM JH JB GH MB TD
In Attendance:	Dana Kirkpatrick	Jumping Director	JD
	Bailey McCormack	Jumping Administrator	BM

Apologies: RE

Board only time: 12.30-12.50pm

JD and BM invited into the meeting.

Subcommittee and Portfolio Appointments

Positions for the roles of Chair and Vice Chair of the board for the next 12 months were voted on as follows:

Motion to nominate Richard Sunderland to remain as Chair of the ESNZ Jumping Board:

Moved: MM Seconded: MB

Motion to nominate Malcolm McKee to remain as Vice Chair of the ESNZ Jumping Board:

Vice Chair

Moved: MM Seconded: JB

2

The allocation of portfolios was discussed and voted on as follows:

Finance Portfolio

Motion to nominate Jan Hunt and Glen Hicks to make up a sub-committee for finance:

Moved: RS Seconded: JB

Performance Portfolio

Motion for Richard Sunderland to remain as chair of the Performance Subcommittee

Moved: MM Seconded: TD

Motion for Jan Hunt to join the Performance Subcommittee:

Moved: MM Seconded: RS

The Performance Committee is now made up of the following members:

Richard Sunderland Jeff McVean Kaye Williams Jan Hunt

Chair Performance Leader Committee Member Committee Member

Technical Portfolio

Motion for Malcolm McKee to remain as Chair of the Technical Subcommittee:

Move: MB Seconded: JH

FEI Portfolio

Motion for Maurice Beatson to remain as chair of the FEI Subcommittee

Moved: MM Seconded: JH

Health and Safety Portfolio

Discussion was had around the purpose of this new portfolio. It was decided this portfolio is best aligned with the Planning Subcommittee.

Motion for Jenny Booth to assist the Jumping Director with the portfolio of Health and Safety:

Moved: Seconded:

Grounds Portfolio

Discussion was had around what to do with this portfolio now that Chris Shore no longer sits on the Jumping Board. It was agreed that Chris Shore could remain in the role as the grounds representative for the South Island while Craig Booth will represent the North Island.

It was agreed to take this motion to the AGA.

Sponsorship Portfolio

It was agreed that this portfolio is best suited to remain with the Jumping Director.

It was noted that each portfolio coordinator/leader can add people into these committees as long as it is run past the board.

Motion to co-opt Ray Egarr back on the board to complete the ESNZ Jumping General Regulations

Moved: MB Seconded: JH

FEI Committee:

Motion for the FEI Committee to remain the same - made up of the following members:

Maurice Beatson	Chair
Fiona Bentley	Judges Representative
Ray Egarr	Steward General Representative
Jeff McVean	High Performance
John Pearce	Northern HB Representative
Kerry Willets	Waikato Representative
Tony Bult	Waitemata Representative

Moved: MB Seconded: RS

Technical Committee:

Motion for the Technical Committee to remain the same except Audrey Cameron is to be removed and replaced with Megan Myers. Committee will be made up of the following members:

Malcom McKee	Chair
Fiona Bentley	Member
Maurice Beatson	Member
Megan Myers	Member
Peter Morris	Member
Ray Eggar	Member
Roger Laplanche	Member
Mandy Illston	Member
Gerrit Beker	Member

Moved: MM Seconded: JB

Motion for Fiona Bentley to take Malcolm McKee's role as Technical Committee chair in his absence:

Moved: MM Seconded: RS

Jumping Representatives:

Motion for Malcolm McKee to continue as Jumping's representative on the ESNZ Board:

Moved: RS Seconded: JB

Motion for Chris Shore to be nominated as Jumping Representative for McLeans Island NEC (to be approved at the ESNZ AGA):

Moved: MM: Seconded: RS

Motion for Jenny and Craig Booth to be Jumping's representatives at Taupo NEC (to be approved at the ESNZ AGA):

Moved: RS Seconded: MB

Matters Arising:

- The pressing issue of the new Health and Safety legislation and the huge task it presents was discussed. JD noted there is the opportunity for a peer review later on, but at this stage ESNZ is not in a position to bring in a consultant. It was also noted that the Jumping Board has the duty of care but is not ultimately responsible if an incident occurred but the first step is to ensure work begins as soon as possible at each level.
- The role of publicity officers and in particular the South Island position now that Annie Studholme is gone was discussed.
- Developing a communications strategy for the whole organization was also raised. JD noted these tasks are the list of things to do, but not the most pressing. It was agreed to put this topic on the table to discuss further at next board meeting.
- The decision to coopt Ray Egarr onto the board for another year was made. It was noted that members will need to be notified of Ray Egarr's appointment.

Committee Reports

FEI Committee

- It was noted that the FEI Committee had a meeting on the 9th of July during the AGM. Fiona Bentley will look at the rules around restricted areas at World Cup events which will come back to the board to be approved.
- Expressions of interest need to go out to all areas needs to host the next World Cup events: MM suggests having similar dates to last year for the World Cup events.

General Business

• TD noted that Show Hunter would like to request all HOY titles are recognized on the official trophies list.

Amateur Show Hunter of the Year Junior Show Hunter of the Year

Denise Crispe Memorial Trophy Double O Eight Trophy

> Moved: TD Seconded: RS

- JD noted the Jumping Growth Plan needs renewing. This is to be sent out by JD and assessed by the board.
- TiES Series conditions need to be discussed at the next board meeting.

- JD requests to be given more notice for board meeting agenda items so there is more time to prepare documents.
- MB requests that series classes at Horse of the Year are put on the show dates card.

Horse of the Year Show 2017

- It was noted that HOY requires a major programme change.
- JD discusses the new equestrian committee for HOY which is to be made up of all disciplines. JD is chairing this committee with its purpose being to get better processes and systematic management in place.
- The role of who is best suited to sit on this board as the Jumping Representative was discussed.

Motion for Kaye Williams to represent Jumping at the HOY Equestrian Committee and be supported by a working committee:

Moved: RS Seconded: TD

Motion for the Jumping Working subcommittee to have a Show Hunter representative:

Moved: TD Seconded: RS

Technical Delegates

Motion to accept Technical Delegate nominations that have been received so far:

Malclm McKee Pauline Quigley Mark Whelan Kath Ward-Smith Heather McDonald Peter Morris

> Moved: MM Seconded: JB

Next board meeting scheduled to occur on the 29th September.

Meeting closed at 2pm.