Horse Power NEC Taupō NEC Christchurch

ESNZ Board & Committees

Meet the Board who govern Equestrian Sports NZ

Sue Hobson

[email protected]

0275 927 431

Sue is a former National Judges Officer and Board member for Dressage and is passionate about equestrian sport.  She is an excellent communicator who is positive and always looking to the future.  Sue has commercial experience through running her own successful business and is an experienced international 4* FEI Dressage and Young Dressage Horse Judge so brings a wealth of wisdom to the ESNZ Board.

Lynda Clark

Vice-President & Chair
[email protected]

Lynda is an experienced facilitator, manager, coach and mentor with a background in Dairy Sector organisations, Tertiary Agricultural education and rural wellness.  She is highly skilled in leadership and people management, rural wellness and development, business planning, and innovative education. She has a passion for growing great individuals and teams where a positive can-do culture prevails. Lynda has served on the Dressage Board as Chair, an appointed ESNZ Board member in the past and now sits as Vice President and Chair of the ESNZ Board.

Sarah Hazelwood

[email protected]

Sarah is Dressage’s representative on the ESNZ Board and comes with a financial background being the accounts person for Dressage.

Sue Billigheimer

[email protected]

Sue has recently taken on the role of Endurance Chair.  As well as riding in Endurance and CTR, Sue also completes in Dressage and is also an FEI level 3* Judge for Endurance.


Penny Tapley

[email protected]

Penny lives on Banks Peninsula in the South Island and is in her third year on the ESNZ Jumping Board.

She is a member of the Canterbury Area group and looks after Show Jumping Canterbury’s sponsors and sponsorship. She is also the secretary of the South Island Show Jumping Committee which is made up of all seven South Island Area groups and coordinates the SI Young Rider camp, SI v Victoria YR competition and the National Show Jumping Champs.

Hannah Walton

Appointed Member
[email protected]

Hannah is committed to growing New Zealand businesses through best practice governance. She has broad industry experience covering aged care, telecommunications, air transport, ICT and financial sectors, with particular experience in leading large-scale transformational change programmes through a collaborative style, agile mindset and behaviours.  Hannah seeks to bring a long term, strategic focus to the roles she performs and teams she works with, with particular emphasis on clarity of purpose and focus on execution.   With a strong background in investment and product development/delivery, Hannah has deep experience within the ICT industry in leading large-scale technology rollouts.  Hannah brings energy and commercial/business acumen to the board table, with a leaning towards the pursuit of opportunities over risk avoidance.  Hannah sits on the Audit Finance and Risk Sub Committee and is an Appointed Board Member.

Ana Sever

Appointed Member
[email protected]

Ana has a career-long record of successful transformation and growth of public and private sector business using digital technology. She has proven governance experience in overseeing technology management delivery and performance, ensuring that risks associated with transformation projects and technology use are mitigated and planned business outcomes are achieved. Anna’s governance objectives are focused on advising and leading organisations to take a proactive approach to disruption and successfully optimise business benefit from their digital investment. She brings a fresh and current approach to governance, especially where new energy and direction is needed for accelerated growth.  Ana is an Appointed Board Member.  Ana also sits on the Remuneration Committee.



Lisa Marcroft

Appointed Member
[email protected]

Lisa brings energy, focus and critical thinking to improve business performance to the ESNZ Board table gained from her considerable experience as Customer Manager: Tech & Services at New Zealand Trade and Enterprise.  Lisa is a member of Dressage Waiakto and also Morrinsville Te Aroha Dressage Group.

Marg Evans

[email protected]

Margaret has been involved with eventing for many years as a committee member of Eventing Canterbury, being a former Chairman and current FEI Event Director, as well as being a parent to riders. She has been a Board member for ESNZ Eventing for eight years and is Eventing’s representative to the ESNZ National Board.  Outside of eventing, Margaret was employed as a scientist in endocrinology at Christchurch Hospital for 30 years with a specialist research interest in reproduction in mares. During this time, she was a member of a number of national and international scientific committees, and is currently a Board member of the NZ Equine Research Foundation, and the NZ Equine Trust. She is married to Bruce Taylor, an equine veterinarian who is also involved in the sport and is an FEI vet.

Audit Finance and Risk Committee

  • Donald Robertson 
  • Lynda Clark
  • Hannah Walton – Chair

Appointments and Remuneration Committee

  • Lynda Clark
  • Ana Sever
  • Chief Executive – with the Chief Executive to drop out if discussing their remuneration

Technical Committee

  • Scott McKenna – Dressage & Chair
  • Sue Billingheimer – Endurance
  • Wendy Landsdown – Eventing
  • Jenny Booth – Jumping
  • Susan O’Brien – ESNZ Steward General
  • Emma Barker – NZPCA (until new CEO appointed)
  • Tony Parsons – ESNZ Veterinary General (Advisor Only)
  • Graeme McCrory – Honorary Medical Advisor (Advisor Only)
  • Discipline Sport Managers (Dressage, Eventing, Jumping)