There’s a huge contingent of Kiwis heading to Ireland this week for the Millstreet International Horse Trials. While it isn’t a targeted event, the New Zealanders will field a team in the FEI Nations Cup competition and be supported by ESNZ support staff.

Perennially, Millstreet is a popular event, but even more so this year as it is one of the last chances for riders to try and secure spots for Paris. More than 400 combinations from 15 nations will take part. The event is also hosting the Irish leg of the FEI Nations Cup team competition series in the CCIO4*-NC-S.

Competing for New Zealand in the CCIO4*-NC-S will be Tim Price with either Chio 20 or Dromgurrihy Gold, Jonelle Price aboard McClaren, Clarke Johnstone with Rocket Man and Daniel Jocelyn on Blackthorn Cruise. There are nine Kiwi combos contesting the 64-strong 4*-S, with three in the 21-strong CCI4*-L, one in the CCI3*-L, five in the CCI3*-S, one in the CCI2*-L, and two in the CCIYH2*-S.

Millstreet is a happy hunting ground for Tim Price who with Falco has twice topped the podium in the last couple of years, winning the CCIO4*-NC-S last year and the CCI4*-L in 2021. In 2022 he and Coup de Coeur Dudevin were second in the CCI4*-L. Jonelle Price and Clarke Johnstone have also both done well at the event.

The first horse inspection is on Wednesday evening, followed by the dressage, showjumping and cross country. Mike Etherington-Smith (GBR) is designing the cross country for the 4* and 3* classes, with James Tarrant (IRL) doing the jumping courses.

The riders and wider support crew aren’t the only Kiwis at the event, with Helen Christie on the 4*-L and CCIP2*-L ground juries and Neil Mackenzie-Hall a technical delegate.

Full details of combinations starting in each division can be found via the link below. 

WHEN: May 29-June 2, 2024
WHERE: Co Cork, Ireland

By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison


Horse Pedigree Owners
Blackthorn Cruise by Vancouver out of Ms Cruize who is by Cruising

Panda Christie and Dan Jocelyn

Chio 20 by Castelan 3 out of Nobelis who is by Heraldik XX

Di Brunsden, Peter Cattell, Lucy Sangster and Tim Price

Dromgurrihy Gold by Royal Concorde out of Congress Polly who is by Poltarf Michael McGrath
McClaren by Clarimo out of Toni I who is by Landjunge

David and Karie Thomson

Rocket Man by Diacontinus out of For You who is by For Pleasure

Jean and Rob Johnstone