Ike Baker receives the jumping Youth of the Year award from Mandy Illston

Thanks to all of those attending over the weekend, it was great to see you in Christchurch.  A summary of decisions and outcomes from the AGM follows.


  • Penny Tapley takes up the role of Jumping Board Chair and continues as the Jumping Board representative on the ESNZ Board. Penny replaces Mandy Illston who has not sought re-election to the Board this year.  Mandy was thanked for her work as Chair of the Jumping Board for the past 6 years.
  • Jenny Booth was re-elected to the Board and continues in the role of Vice-Chair, along with Technical Committee and FEI.
  • Paxton Condor was elected to the Board, having resigned from her role as Riders Rep. She joins Paul Croucher and Katja Kershaw in a sponsorship working group.
  • Sarah Forman is confirmed as Riders Rep on a 2 year term.
  • Thomas Gardner continues with the Finance portfolio.
  • Katja Kershaw and Paul Croucher continue their current terms as Board Members and will focus on sponsorship. Paul is also the Nth Island NEC representative for Jumping.
  • Tracey Lammas joins the Board as Show Hunter Representative, replacing Lucy Maley



Remit 6 PASSED

Grand Prix Summer Series Conditions

2.3. Organising Committees must not run a may run a Grand Prix and a Premier League/World Cup Class at the same competition.

Remits 1,2,8 WITHDRAWN

Remits 3,4,5,7,9,10 FAILED



  1. For Series Classes

Grand Prix Shows: all minimum prize money and the requirement to pay to 6th placing has been removed. 

Premier Shows: prizes in cash or kind must be paid out down to sixth place (minimum). The minimum amount of prize money paid out for each Summer Series competition shall be as follows:





















Grand Prix



  1. Obstacles and Courses

Where a height range is listed as the height for the class, at least 50% of all obstacles must be built at the median height or higher.  E.g. Amateur Rider 12 obstacles @ 1.10m – 1.20m.  50% of the obstacles must be built at 1.15m or higher.



  • Lucy Maley was re-elected to South Island Co-Ordinator which is an Executive position.
  • Show Hunter Chair is Tracey Lammas, replacing Lucy Maley who chose to step down from Chair after 9 years. Lucy was thanked for her contribution over this time.



Remit 2 PASSED

Equipment allowed – adding nose nets  

Remit 3 PASSED

Age of rider, cleanup of rule..

Riders Age for 12 & under Equitation Series.  Competitors will be eligible to take part in this series until the end of the season during which they reach the age of 12, the season being from 1st August to 31st July.



The dates card will be finalised after July 14th, allowing the opportunity for organising committees to review and advise any additions or deletions of series classes following the rule changes affecting prize money.



The Pilmer Plate Lifetime Volunteer/Officials Award was awarded to Roger Laplanche a longtime FEI Course Designer, Technical Committee member and officials’ mentor.

Cassina Dior (Phillip Steiner) shared the National Horse of the Year award with Trudeau (Matthew Grayling).

The Jumping Youth of the Year was awarded to Ike Baker, from Northern Hawkes Bay.   This is a new award which recognises youth (under 25) who are leaders, and contribute to the growth and future of the sport. Ike was recognised as a leader in Northern Hawkes Bay Area, a key member of the youth committee running the Young Horse Show, a representative on the Horse of the Year Board, a researcher and presenter on breeding and development of young horses, and a successful competitor developing young horses of his own.  Ike has also assisted in the Cyclone recovery within his area.


Five top equestrians were inducted into the ESNZ Hall of Fame:

The late Peter Morris MNZM was recognised for his judging career and contribution as one of the country’s most respected technical officials at the highest level for over 40 years.

Catriona Williams, for her dedication and fund raising for spinal injury research.

Merran Hain QSM, who has participated for six decades as a rider, supporter, official and volunteer.

John Cottle, who first represented New Zealand internationally in the early 1970s, has been Chef  d’Equipe of many winning NZ Young Rider teams, and has been a national coach and selector, and member of the high performance and planning and development committees.  John continues to coach and mentor riders.

Alan Hampton ONMZ, who was responsible for the design and development of the South Island Equestrian Centre at McLean’s Island, Christchurch which will celebrate 40 years of existence this year. His life-long service to equestrian sports includes many significant achievements in the development of the sport, particularly in the South Island. Alan is also a trustee of the Nimon Trust, a fund that supports young riders heading overseas to gain international experience and opportunities.



Jumping Team

3 July 2023