Jack Ford (Kaikoura) aboard Masaii Mara GNZ in the Ultramox 6 Year Old Breeders Series (held in conjunction with PGG Wrightsons) – Photo Credit – Wilde Photography


Record entries and perfect weather combined to create two fantastic days of jumping at the South Island’s first full carded show of the season, the Nelson Area Spring Show Jumping September event.

Secretary Karen Rhind said both showjumping and show hunter classes had attracted quality horses and excellent jumping, and thanks to the massive efforts of the group’s solid volunteer base, the show had been a huge success. “Without their efforts, there simply wouldn’t be a jumping sport,” she said.

A strong contingent of horses and riders had made the trek from Canterbury to join those from Nelson and Marlborough. “We are very, very pleased,” she said.

The quality of the Marchwood Park surface had also contributed to an excellent event.

West Melton rider Gayle Baker had a good show, winning the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series class aboard Clariton.

Jack Ford (Kaikoura) also had one to remember, placing third in the Pro-Am Series class on Genius and placing first equal aboard Masaii Mara GNZ in the UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series (held in conjunction with PGG Wrightson).

The trip north from Christchurch was all worthwhile for Johanna Wylaars who won the Hussey Paint and Panel South Island Pony Mini Prix Championship aboard Larabelle and placed second in the FMG Young Rider Series class (held in conjunction with Waimea Contract Carriers) on Cassera MS.

In the show hunter ring, Brittany Norman (Marahau) and Kiwi Tickle Me Elmo scored an impressive 88% in the NRM Open Horse High Points (held in conjunction with Mt Heslington Farm).

Sarah Ching designed the courses in ring one where all the showjumping series’ classes were held while Janet Morgan designed those in the show hunter ring.


Showjumping, East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series (in conjunction with Global Performance): Lily Plunkett (Motueka) Oakspring Lordable 1.

UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series (in conjunction with PGG Wrightson): Jack Ford (Kaikoura) Masaii Mara GNZ and Sarah Parkes (Marlborough) Windermere Centarosa =1.

Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Gayle Baker (West Melton) Clariton 1, Emma Burrell (Blenheim) Pretoria HK 2, Sophie Henderson (Canterbury) Fohn Friday 3, Kate Anderson (Marlborough) Sioda 4, Taryn Beattie (Nelson) Henton Exchequer 5, Linda Cotton (Nelson) Kingsway Khan 6.

Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Molly Moffatt (Kaiapoi) Glenmark 1, Georgia Weaver (Nelson) Cosmopolitan 2, Tinesha Benson (Cust) Ataahua Bess 3.

Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series (in conjunction with Crawford Hill): Tamara Silcock (Nelson) FF Lisandro 1, Becky Harkerss (Oaro) LT Holst Chief 2, Jack Ford (Kaikoura) Genius 3, Helen Ensor (Marlborough) Zactac Carnival 4, Graciey-Rose Donnithorne (Canterbury) Woodbine Orlando 5.

FMG Young Rider Series (in conjunction with Waimea Contract Carriers): Anna Nalder (Rangiora) Letano 1, Johanna Wylaars (Christchurch) Cassera MS 2, Meg Bisset (Blenheim) Bewitched NZPH 3.

Hussey Paint and Panel South Island Pony Mini Prix Championship: Johanna Wylaars (Christchurch) Larabelle 1, Molly Moffatt (Canterbury) Te Ngaio Raggamuffin 2, Maria O’Connor (Mahana) LSL Moves Like Jagger 3, Lily Plunkett (Motueka) Oakspring Wildfire 4, Molly Moffatt (Canterbury) Freestyle Twyst & Shout 5.


Show hunter, NRM Open Horse High Points Series (in conjunction with Mt Heslington Farm): Brittany Norman (Marahau) Kiwi Tickle Me Elmo 1, Emily Cowan (Blenheim) Reid n Dale Confidential 2, April Spence (Seddon) Cappuccino NZPH 3, Annie Baird (Wakefield) Roselea Alfie 4.

Waikato and Bay of Plenty Show Hunter Groups 12 years and under Equitation Series: Georgina Musgrove (Blenheim) WV Limited Edition 1, Quinn Wickham (Blenheim) Willowmead Acrobat 2, Annabel Costley Neal (Blenheim) Willowmead Melody 3.

Fiber Fresh Cat B High Points Series: Georgina Musgrove (Blenheim) WV Limited Edition 1, , Quinn Wickham (Blenheim) Willowmead Acrobat 2.

Aniwell Cat C High Points Series: Harriet Murray (Kaikoura) Puzzle 1, Martha McRae (Hanmer Springs) Pioneer Spring Loaded 2, Hollie Southward (Nelson) Sailor Boy 3.

Carousel Equestrian Amateur High Points Series and Sport Horse Junior High Points Series: Emily Cowan (Blenheim) Reid n Dale Confidential 1, Anna Vavasour (Blenheim) Flint RC 2, Maddy Jones (Seddon) Starborough Sandman 3, April Spence (Seddon) Cappuccino NZPH 4, Annie Baird (Wakefield) Roselea Alfie 5.

Petticoat Lane Performance Horses Adult Equitation Series and ESNZ Show Hunter Junior Equitation Series: April Spence (Seddon) Cappuccino NZPH 1, Emily Cowan (Blenheim) Reid n Dale Confidential 2.

Vero Insurance Cat A High Points Series: Lucy Vavasour (Marlborough) Lakewood Falcon 1, Holly Clark (Mapua) Tarahua Shiloh 2, Alicia Shaw (Greymouth) Stoneyriver Lucy 3, Harriet Murray (Kaikoura) Hollybank Pico 4.

Big On Writing Show Hunter Pony Equitation Series: Alicia Shaw (Greymouth) Stoneyriver Lucy 1, Harriet Murray (Kaikoura) Puzzle 2, Amy Wassell (Motueka) HillBilly 3, Martha McRae (Hanmer Springs) Pioneer Spring Loaded 4, Amy Wassell (Motueka) That’s That 5.


For full results, head to www.evoevents.co.nz

The Jumping Team – 29 September 2022