Samantha Gillies and Lumarzo – Winners of the FMG Young Rider Series – Photo Credit Cornege Photography


Oamaru’s Gillies sisters continue to shine on their North Island mission, with both in the money at the opening week of the Let’s Jump Fiber Fresh Easter Jumping Festival in Taupo at the weekend.

Samantha Gillies and Lumarzo were convincing winners of the FMG Young Rider class while Emma and Chic Xtreme were sixth in the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider. Both also picked up wins and placings in non-series classes on their horses and ponies, including victory for Samantha and Lumarzo in the 1.3m horse classic.

Eighteen started the Young Rider with just three coming back for the jump-off where the South Islanders showed their class. Samantha took the win with a double clear in 36.73 seconds with Sophie Townsend (Darfield) and former World Cup (NZ) series winner My Super Nova second in 39.93. Olivia Newsom (Tauranga) and Charmed Escudo MSNZ were third with four faults from their 41.13-second round.

The 16-strong Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider class came down to a two-horse race between Trudi Mitchell (Wairoa) on Epic NZPH and Helen McNaught (Taupo) with Double Whoopy. Both were double clear with Trudi and Epic NZPH crossing the flags at 42.19 seconds and Helen coming home in 43.43 for second.

Jess Trow (Auckland) and Kiwi Sunup headed home 13 other combinations in the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider class with a double clear in 39.87 seconds. Dean Morgan (Hamilton) and Sobraon Park Coldplay were also double clear to take second place in 40.41, with Shelley Bridgeman (Auckland) aboard Oaks Vendetta third, all clean in 43.53 seconds.

It was a competitive 26 combinations who lined up in the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider class with eight coming back for the jump-off where just Lucy Buchanan (Havelock North) aboard Chevel De Fond and Rose Windross (Auckland) on Double J Kelvin were double clear. However, it was Lucy’s 43.39 second effort that triumphed over Rose’s 43.83 to take the win.

Thirteen started the East Coast Five-Year-Old Series class with nine sharing first place. It was a little tighter in the UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series class where just three of the 11 original starters came home double clear to share the spoils.

Lucy Olphert (Queenstown) and Kiwi Strike were the only combination to go through to the jump-off in the Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series where they again kept their slates clean to head home the eight-strong class.

The second part of the Fiber Fresh Easter Jumping Festival is the New Zealand Indoor Champs, which run at the NEC from Friday to Sunday.



FMG Young Rider Series: Samantha Gillies (Oamaru) Lumarzo 1, Sophie Townsend (Darfield) My Super Nova 2, Olivia Newsom (Tauranga) Charmed Escudo MSNZ 3, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Letino 4, Leeshelle Small (Ramarama) AMS Dolce NZPH 5, Aimee Collinson (Auckland) Deo Volente 6.

Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series: Trudi Mitchell (Wairoa) Epic NZPH 1, Helen McNaught (Taupo) Double Whoopy 2, Deanna Horsburgh (Cambridge) Entourage NZPH 3, Kelly Chapman (Albany) Eye See Ruby 4, Christine Cornege (Cambridge) LillyBerg SL 5, Rosie Commons (Auckland) Lottie 6.

Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Lucy Buchanan (Havelock North) Cheval De Fond 1, Rose Windross (Auckland) Double J Kelvin 2, Sophia Blackbourn (Cambridge) Roxette ECPH 3, Emily Ramsden (Cambridge) L’Orame 4, Lucas Bremner (Northland) Triple Star Titanium 2 5, Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Chic Xtreme 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Jess Trow (Auckland) Kiwi Sunup 1, Dean Morgan (Hamilton) Sobraon Park Coldplay 2, Shelley Bridgeman (Auckland) Oaks Vendetta 3, Brooke Knight-Willis (Auckland) Everything Equine Totara 4, Rebecca Roigard (Taupo) Neo 5, Sue Gower (Central Districts) Midway Detroit 6.

Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series: Lucy Olphert (Queenstown) Kiwi Strike 1, Julie Davey (Hastings) LT Holst Freda 2, Rose Alfeld (Leeston) Footloose NZPH ;3, Geordie Bull (Taupo) Marius 4, Vicki Wilson (Hastings) Theodore Xtreme 5, Kathryn Alabaster (Hastings) Haupouri Ferrari NZPH 6.

UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series: Tessa Ranger (Putaruru) Dakarra WHS, Edward Bullock (Waiuku) Kiwi Sundance and Hannah Bodle (Morrinsville) Haupouri Galileo NZPH =1.

East Coast Five-Year-Old Series: Kalani Nicol (Cambridge) KMR Lazaro, Chelsey Hawthorn (Waikato) Destiny’s Resolution, Noni Morgan (Hastings) The Eleventh Hour, Kylee McCambridge (Cambridge) Chacco Sapphire MS, Tara Gower (Ohura) Riverhills Legend, Hannah Bodle (Morrinsville) Classified II, Anneke van Rooyen (Taumarunui) Awaroa New Edition, Anneke van Rooyen (Taumarunui) Awaroa Geronimo and Alyvia James (Cambridge) Takapoto Mango Lass =1.


For full results, head to

The Jumping Team 11 April 2022