Daniel Blundell on Cadenza NZPH – Winner of the EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix at the Ray Burmester Memorial show hosted by Waitemata Show Jumping at Woodhill Sands

Photo Credit – Cornege Photography


Daniel Blundell almost didn’t start at the Ray Burmester Memorial Grand Prix Show at the weekend but the temptation of Monday off made him take a small team to Woodhill Sands where he and Cadenza NZPH led home a 10-strong team to take the win in the EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix.

Four combinations came back for the jump-off over a “nice and open course” designed by Danielle Watts. “I wasn’t too stressed about the first round as I wanted to do a bit of training with him but he just jumped awesome,” said Daniel. “Then in the jump-off I knew we would both have to really go for it after Tyla (Hackett) and Paxton (Conder) both went clear. He isn’t that experienced at jump-offs but there was an inside turn I thought we would take and then gallop to the last . . . and then we’d be able to get it.”

Turns out he was right. Tyla (Waiuku) and Global PH Cocofino stopped the clock at 34.31 with Paxton (Whatawhata) and La Fonteyn crossed the flags at 36.05. But neither were good enough to beat Daniel’s 33.7-second effort.

He bought the horse from Rose Alfeld who had brought the horse through to the seven-year-old series classes. “They had done well and it has taken me a couple of years to get to know. He has been going awesome lately though,” he said of the 10-year-old who also recently won the Grand Prix at Auckland.

Daniel and Cadenza NZPH lined up for a single POLi Payments FEI World Cup class this year and it happened to be the final where the fulltime rider and trainer was extremely proud of their efforts. “He has all the scope in the world, it just comes down to rideability but I knew he would go well today because it was hot and still . . . he hates the wind. I am stoked!”

Eleven started the Country TV Pony Grand Prix (sponsored by GJ Gardner) series class with just two coming back for the jump-off where Jordyn Appleton (Auckland) and Burma Chilli were just too good for Alexandra Henry (Whangarei) on Mosaic of Renton.

Jordyn and her 13-year-old Australia stock horse mare flew home double clear in 35.82 seconds, with Alexandra taking a rail in their 41.04-second round. Zara Preece-Twose (Auckland) and her lovely TC Piano Man were third as the fastest of five four-faulters.

The Ray Burmester Memorial Derby was won by Lynette Jackson (Whenuapai) aboard Fortissimo who were the only combination of the 23 starters to finish with a clean slate.


Results –


EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix Series (sponsored by Giltrap Audi): Daniel Blundell (Auckland) Cadenza NZPH 1, Tyla Hackett (Waiuku) Global PH Cocofino 2, Paxton Conder (Whatawhata) La Fonteyn 3, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Letino 4, Karis Spurway (New Plymouth) Maddox Allheart 5, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Bandito NZPH 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series (sponsored by GJ Gardner): Jordyn Appleton (Auckland) Burma Chilli 1, Alexandra Henry (Whangarei) Mosaic of Renton 2, Zara Preece-Twose (Auckland) TC Piano Man 3, Katie Readings (Auckland) Golden Shutterbug 4, Sadie-J Douglas (Cambridge) Jackpot Jake 5, Sophie Ludbrook (Pakaraka) Lotsa Noodles 6.

FMG Young Rider Series (sponsored by GJ Gardner): Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Bandito NZPH 1, Aimee Collinson (Clevedon) Deo Volente 2, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Letino 3, Ben Weir (Auckland) Amorcito 4, Liam Rutland (Te Awamutu) Whiorau Ritchie 5, Karis Spurway (New Plymouth) Maddox Allheart 6.

Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Castakko Xtreme 1, Charlotte Treneary (Kumeu) Waitangi Zoom 2, Amara Green (Woodhill) LC Underberg 3, Summer Denize (Kerikeri) Delta Latino 4, Harley Ferguson (Whangarei) Code-Air 5, Samantha-Lee Wakeling (Wellsford) BMW Braveheart 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Katja Kershaw (Auckland) Vivacity 1, Jacob Razak (South Auckland) Dominus 2, Kelly Hawkeswood (Whitford) Little Curioso 3, Shelley Bridgeman (Auckland) Oaks Vendetta 4, Ashley Johnston (Whangarei) Miss Vee NZPH 5, Laura Pratt (Te Pahu) Larriette CSH 6.

Harrison Lane Pro Amateur Rider Series (sponsored by Canter for Cancer): Deanna Horsburgh (Cambridge) Entourage NZPH 1, Rosie Commons (Auckland) Lotte 2, Edward Bullock (Waiuku) Kiwi Sundance 3, Laura McGregor (Auckland) Emmaville Dontango 4, Edward Bullock (Waiuku) Weiti Pogo 5, Rosanna Dickson (Cambridge) DSE Exuberance 6.

Ray Burmester Memorial Derby (1.1m-1.2m): Lynette Jackson (Whenuapai) Fortissimo 1, Jeremy Clark (Te Kauwhata) Dynavyte Ipso Facto 2, Anne Marie Styles (Clevedon) Tamburo 3, Colleen Crous (Auckland) Orames Girl VDL 4, Isabelle Saxton (Tuakau) Double Shott 5, Amy Gravatt (Whangarei) Totaranui TS Ripslinger 6.

BMW Sport Horses Pony Grand Prix Super Series: Alexandra Henry (Whangarei) Mosaic of Renton 1, Charlotte Gorrie (Whangarei) Airtime RSNZ 2, Sophie Ludbrook (Pakaraka) Lotsa Noodles 3, Samantha-Lee Wakeling (Wellsford) BMW Sharpshooter 4, Danni Bird (Hawke’s Bay) AHD Dynamo 5, Isabelle Hawkins (Auckland) Spotified 6.

Grand Prix Super Series Final (sponsored by Shelley Bridgeman): Paula Mussen (Pukekohe) Déjà vu NZPH 1, Paxton Conder (Whatawhata) La Fonteyn 2, Glen Beal (Pukekohe) Soprano 3, Catherine Burden (Waiuku) Fifty Shades HS 4, Isabelle Jameson (Whangarei) Kiwi Storm 5, Tyla Hackett (Waiuku) Eye Candy 6.

For full results, head to www.evoevents.co.nz

The Jumping Team – 28 March 2022