Maurice Beatson rides Central Park,  Copyright Photo: KAMPIC / Kerry Marshall


Maurice Beatson is always happy for a Grand Prix victory but today’s win in the EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix at the Feilding IA&P March Show felt a little bittersweet.

“It’s Olympic Cup day,” he said with a chuckle, “so I guess this is my Olympic Cup for this season! The weather would have been great for HOY too.”

Today he and Central Park were the only clears in the opening round of the Chris Rodgers-designed course in the indoor arena at Manfeild Park. “It was just one of those classes where people had faults in different places. Being indoors I never saw the others go at all, so you have no idea what is going on, but Chris always does a good job inside. It’s always good to win.”

The minor placings were decided on time with second to fifth all on four faults. Coming in for second was Daniel Webb (Hunterville) on WSJ Centaur with Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) aboard LT Holst Andrea third, Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) with Waitangi Skynet fourth, and Katharine van Tuyl (Palmerston North) on Double J Sunshine fifth.

Ten-year-old Central Park has really hit his straps this season, with plenty of consistency and producing his best ever run of results. “We just want to keep on winning classes.”

There had been very competitive entries at the show where Maurice’s partner Sally Clark won the Harrison Lane Pro Am Series class aboard Victoria’s Secret and he was the victor in the 1.3m on Sun Flake.

The show was only put together two weeks ago by Jill Martin who Maurice says is great at putting on events. He had plenty of praise too for the facilities at Manfeild Park and says it excellent to see them being used.

Penny Borthwick (Masterton) stole the march on her opposition, taking out the Country TV Pony Grand Prix class aboard Rednalhgih Cowan with the only clear of the opening round of the competition. Four faulters Tessa Mason (Napier) on Mr Acho and Chloe Roylance (New Plymouth) aboard Tallyho Cleopatra filled second and third respectfully in the eight-strong field.


Results –


EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix Series: Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Central Park 1, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) WSJ Centaur 2, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Andrea 3, Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) Waitangi Skynet 4, Katharine Van Tuyl (Palmerston North) Double J Sunshine 5, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) LT Holst Bernadette 6.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series: Penny Borthwick (Masterton) Rednalhgih Cowan 1, Tessa Mason (Napier) Mr Acho 2, Chloe Roylance (New Plymouth) Tallyho Cleopatra 3, Danni Bird (Hawke’s Bay) AHD Dynamo 4, Penny Borthwick (Masterton) Foxden’s Merlot 5, Reef Hicks (Hawke’s Bay) Bits & Pieces 6.


Harrison Lane Pro Am Rider Series: Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 1, Claire Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Chuck 2, Bailey Harvey (New Plymouth) Haupouri Evandro NZPH 3, Noni Morgan (Hastings) Starlight Discovery 4, Hana Bognuda (Hunterville) Beerenberg 5.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Kimberley Carrington (Takapau) Double J Barmaid 1, Eilidh Gloyn (Palmerston North) Air Hill Bambi 2, Emma Ferguson (Okuku) Lazarus GNZ 3, Tara Gower (Ohura) Riverhills Bayliner 4, Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) Magic Dragon 5, Kimberley Carrington (Takapau) Double J Typhoon 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Luce Williams (Tinui) Grassendale Enzo 1, Harvey Nelson (Waimaramara) Flash NZPH 2, Harvey Nelson (Waimaramara) Ngahiwi Loone 3, Nigel Horton (Kumeroa) Mandalay Cove 4, Cindy Dames (Hastings) Tanglewood 5, Sara Hilhorst (Palmerston North) Kabo Silver Lining 6.


FMG Young Rider Series: Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) LDS Cardo 1, Tara Gower (Ohura) Double J Image 2, Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) Wenrose Vertigo 3, Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) Lakota 4, Samantha Megchelse (New Plymouth) Rata Mill Eclipse 5, Karis Spurway (New Plymouth) Maddox Allheart 6.


Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series: Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Hurricane 1, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) WSJ Apache 2, Sophie Scott (Palmerston North) Joopiter 3, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) Royal Wish 4, Chantelle Smith (Palmerston North) Glentai Mockingjay 5, and Daniel Webb (Hunterville) WSJ Astros 6.


UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series: Chantelle Smith (Palmerston North) Glentai Maximus 1.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Hana Bugnuda (Hunterville) WSJ Cartalusa, Aneke van Rooyen (Taumarunui) Awaroa New Edition, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Central Zone, Claire Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Swipe Right, Brigitte Smith (Mangaweka) Kiwi Capitol Hill, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Indiana Xtreme and Daniel Webb (Hunterville) WSJ Starline =1.


Pony Mini Prix: Anna Wilson (Waipukurau) Redcliffs Bill 1, Leah Harre (New Plymouth) Good Luck Charlie 2, Janey Pease (Piopio) Rascal Flatts OS 3, Ella von Dadelszen (Waipukurau) Redcliffs Colour Me Quick 4, Tessa Harre (New Plymouth) Perfect Little Rebel 5, Isla Bowley (Upper Hutt) EB Esperanza 6.


For full results, head to


Jumping Team

March 14, 2022