Nakeysha Lammers and Balboa NZPH   

Photo Credit – Amy C Photography


Nakeysha Lammers and Balboa NZPH may have had a little nudge at the first but it proved to be just the reminder they needed to go double clear and take the honours in the EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix at the second week of the Gilltrap Audi Showjumping Waitemata Show.

Sixteen lined up for the top class of the show but just Nakeysha and youngster Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) aboard Bandito NZPH made it through to the jump-off.

Nakeysha was out first and knew she and 11-year-old Balboa needed to be clear and fast enough to add a little pressure to the teen to follow.

“I know he is pretty quick so I tried to do a few (quick) turns as well,” said the environmental advisor who is also studying for a Bachelor of Applied Science. True to form, Rylee came out firing and despite a faster time, an early rail relegated him to second.

“The course was definitely technical and everything came up quickly but I found it great,” she said.

“There were definitely some good combinations in the class but both Balboa and Resolution have been jumping really well lately.”

Fifteen-year-old Resolution was also clear in the opening round, but Nakeysha says a rider error earned them a single time penalty and saw them finish in third place.

“I am very happy with today’s results.” Her team now head to Taranaki for the World Cup Show but her focus is on stepping the team up to some of the bigger classes at the Land Rover Horse of the Year Show.

Fourteen started the Country TV Pony Grand Prix with just two coming back for the jump-off where Alexandra Henry (Whangarei) and Mosaic of Renton left everything in place to take the win ahead of Samantha-Lee Wakeling (Wellsford) aboard BMW Sharpshooter.

Ashley Johnston (Whangarei) bagged an impressive seventh win of the season in the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series aboard Miss Vee NZPH when she took the class at Woodhill.

Kevin Hansen designed the courses for ring one with Wayne Bragg in ring two and Edward Bullock in ring three. The show attracted 350 combinations, with entries closed off quickly after filling within hours.


Results –


EvoEvents Horse Grand Prix Series (sponsored by Gilltrap Audi): Nakeysha Lammers (Hamilton) Balboa NZPH 1, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Bandito NZPH 2, Nakeysha Lammers (Hamilton) Resolution 3, Daniel Blundell (Tauranga) Cadenza NZPH 4, Vicki Prendergast (Matamata) Selena C 5, Laura Inkster (Auckland) Matawai Sentana 6.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series (sponsored by GJ Gardner): Alexandra Henry (Whangarei) Mosaic of Renton 1, Samantha-Lee Wakeling (Wellsford) BMW Sharpshooter 2, Katie Readings (Pukekawa) Golden Shutterbug 3, McKenzie Dane (Whangarei) Frostbite II 4, Zara Main (Auckland) Blue Crush 5, Cassie Topper (Whangarei) Redcliffs Wizz Bang ME 6.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Jeremy Whale (Hampton Downs) Levi Xtreme, Maya Hegh (Taupaki) Fleur de Mer, Vicki Prendergast (Matamata) Stallone K, Mark Wells (Ruakaka) November Rain and Joy McNeill (Whangarei) Just Orange =1.


UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series: Sarah West (Te Aroha) Six Sixty SP, Kristi Salonius (Cambridge) Quintess, Edward Bullock (Waiuku) Kiwi Sundance and Maddison Greatorex (Mangapai) Groove Girl PSH =1.


Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series: Jeremy Whale (Hampton Downs) Bannockburn ECPH 1, Kristi Salonius (Cambridge) MF Starbound 2, Colleen Crous (Auckland) Castiel Xtreme 3, Carissa McCall (Taupaki) Picasso MVNZ 4.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series (sponsored by More-Mag): Tahlia Graham (Warkworth) Ngahiwi Lady Blue 1, Rose Windross (Auckland) Double J Kelvin 2, Georgia Milner (Auckland) Double J Angelic 3, Emily Ramsden (Auckland) L’Orame 4, Amelia Munro (Paremoremo) Oaks Centurian 5, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Castakko Xtreme 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Ashley Johnston (Whangarei) Miss Vee NZPH 1, Jessica Trow (Whitford) Kiwi Sunup 2, Jeremy Clark (Hampton Downs) Dynavyte Cancion HSH 3, Amy Gravatt (Whangarei) TS Ripslinger 4, Brooke Knight Willis (Auckland) Everything Equine Totara 5, Jeremy Clark (Hampton Downs) Dynavyte Ipso Facto 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series (sponsored by Ray Burmester Master Jeweller) : Mathew Dickey (Hamilton) Waitangi Imak 1, Anne Marie Styles (Clevedon) Tamburo 2, Kate Herdson (Auckland) Cavallino 3, Michelle Wakeling (Wellsford) BMW Chaccolilli 4, Robbie McKay (Opotiki) Haupouri Eldorado NZPH 5, Olivia Glen (Clevedon) Coconella 6.


FMG Young Rider Series (sponsored by GJ Gardner): Eden Johnstone (Auckland) Valcheta 1, Ben Weir (Auckland) Lanice van de Heffinck 2, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Bandito NZPH 3, Jasmyne Speake (Cambridge)  Pioneer Jeepers Creepers 4, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Letino and Olivia Prendergast (Matamata) Stellar =5.


Burmester Realty Horse Grand Prix Super Series: Samantha van Lierde (Cambridge) Cadillac NZPH 1, Daniel Blundell (Tauranga) Cadenza NZPH 2, Vicki Prendergast (Matamata) Selena C 3, Nakeysha Lammers (Hamilton) Resolution 4, Jono Smith (Taupo) Haupouri Turn it Blue NZPH 5, Paula Mussen (Pukekohe) Déjà vu NZPH 6.


Pony Grand Prix Super Series: Zara Main (Auckland) Blue Crush 1, Sophie Ludbrook (Pakaraka) Lotsa Noodles 2, McKenzie Dane (Whangarei) Frostbite II 3, Jordyn Appleton (Auckland) Burma Chilli 4, Anna Wade (Te Aroha) Let’s Tango 5, Zara Preece-Twose (Auckland) TC Piano Man 6.


Jumping Team

17 January 2022