Showjumping was a welcome addition at the Southern Canterbury A&P Show at the weekend. It was the first time in a number of years the discipline has been included at the Show and riders turned out to support the initiative despite torrential rain on Saturday night.


Once again Oamaru’s Gillies sisters were in full flight, heading home with wins and placings. Emma and Benrose Playtime took the honours in the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, and she also won the Hussy Paint & Panel Pony Mini Prix aboard Benrose Starlight and placed fourth with Benrose Eclipse. Samantha was second with Socrates De La Vie 2 in the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series class and also placed fifth in the Pony Mini Prix with St Marryn Guiness.


In the FMG Young Rider Series, the honours went the way of Margot Curtis aboard Double J Barista who was all clear in the jump-off in a time of 38.52 seconds with Grace Manera and Cazette coming in for second with a clear round in 43.32 seconds.


Seven started the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series class with the top three all double clear. In the end though it was a lovely win for Anna Nalder and Icebreaker II who stopped the clock at 30.68 seconds, with Samantha Gillies and Socrates De La Vie Z home in 32.37 seconds and Jakob Pascoe aboard Bravo opting for the careful clear in his 47.22 second round.


Jess Land and Emilo MSH won the Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series class with Courtney Townsend and Corofina ECPH second.


Amanda Tulloch and Rumours NPZH took the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series class with the only clear of the opening round, with Sonia McKendar and Edward NZPH filling second after picking up a single time fault.


Emma Barker designed the courses for ring 1 with Tony Hutton in ring 2 and Ashleigh Ulrich charged with the show hunter courses.


Results –

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Benrose Playtime 1, Molly Moffatt (Christchurch) Te Ngaio Raggamuffin 2.


FMG Young Rider Series: Margot Curtis (West Melton) Double J Barista 1, Grace Manera (West Melton) Cazette 2, Margot Curtis (West Melton) Portabello Ragazza 3.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Anna Nalder (North Canterbury) Icebreaker II 1, Samantha Gillies (Oamaru) Socrates De La Vie Z, Jakob Pascoe (Waikari Valley) Bravo 3, Molly Moffatt (Christchurch) Glenmark 4, Quinn Coutts (Mosgiel) Casa Domani 5, Noah Coutts (Mosgiel) Extravaganza 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series: Jess Land (Canterbury) Emilo MSH 1, Courtney Townsend (Darfield) Corofina ECPH 2.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Amanda Tulloch (Southland) Rumours NZPH 1, Sonia McKertcher (South Canterbury) Edward NZPH 2, Kate Taylor (South Canterbury) London 3, David Hutton (South Canterbury) Rolux 4, Nic Grant (Canterbury) Mellivora BP 5, Stephanie Suppan (North Canterbury) Ngahiwi Blackjack ECPH 6.


Hussy Paint & Panel Pony Mini Prix: Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Benrose Starlight 1, Kaitlyn Murray (South Canterbury) FC Fine Lace 2, Molly Smith (South Canterbury) BG Lennox 3, Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Benrose Eclipse 4, Samantha Gillies (Oamaru) St Marryn Guiness 5, Caitlin Moran (North Canterbury) It’s a Gamble 6.

By Diana Dobson
9 November 2020