Rylee Sheehan rides Tony the Pony to win the Pony Grand Prix, Equifest, Taupo, Sunday, November 29, 2020. Copyright: KAMPIC / Sarah Lord

Rylee Sheehan and the delightful Tony the Pony were the only combination to go double clear in the Country TV Pony Grand Prix at the inaugural Equifest in Taupo.

The Te Aroha teen was one of nine in the class, with three coming back to jump-off. Second-placed Keira Page (Mystery Creek) and Redcliffs Colour Me In were the fastest in the second round but paid for their speedy 36.68-second round with rails and finished with eight faults. Third placed Cassie Topper (Whangarei) and Redcliffs Wizz Bang MF also had a tally of eight in their 46.19-second effort.

Brooke Hawthorne (Cambridge) and Ziggy Stardust GNZ were the victors in the FMG Young Rider class, which attracted 14 combinations. Three came back for the jump-off where Brooke was the only rider to leave everything in place with her impressive 37.54-second round. Olivia Newsom (Tauranga) and Caretino Jewel were second with Sarah West (Matamata) aboard Delamerie Sun third and Rylee popping up for fourth aboard Bandito NZPH.

Sophia Blackbourn rides Blackall Park Romeo to win the Junior Rider, Equifest, Taupo, Sunday, November 29, 2020. Copyright: KAMPIC / Sarah Lord

Kirsten Worker (Clevedon) and Melanie’s Choice took out the Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider class with Sophia Blackbourn (Hamilton) and Blackall Park Romeo winning the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider, and Anna Kincheff (Rotorua) and her well-performed Red Socks taking out the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider class.

Anna Kincheff rides Red Socks to win the Amateur Rider, Equifest, Taupo, Sunday, November 29, 2020. Copyright: KAMPIC / Sarah Lord

The 19-strong Equifest 1.35m championship was won by Duncan McFarlane (Taupo) aboard Be Mine NZPH who came home double clear in 39.05 seconds with runner-up Emma Gaze (Ohaupo) and Kowhai Bug also all clean in 39.39.

The three day Equifest is a new event which includes clinics, entertainment, shopping and some competition. It was held at the National Equestrian Centre in Taupo.


Results –

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Tony the Pony 1, Keira Page (Mystery Creek) Redcliffs Colour Me In 2, Cassie Topper (Whangarei) Redcliffs Wizz Bang MF 3, Crystal Hackett (Waiuku) The Dreamer 4, Madison Jackson (Auckland) Rednalhgih Cowan 5, Shanae Savannah (Silverdale) Tiger Tale LS 6.


FMG Young Rider Series: Brooke Hawthorne (Cambridge) Ziggy Stardust GNZ 1, Olivia Newsom (Tauranga) Caretino Jewel 2, Sarah West (Matamata) Delamerie Sun 3, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Bandito NZPH 4, Olivia Dalton (Karaka) Cil Dara Bonaparte 5, Tyla Hackett (Waiuku) Global PH Cocofino 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series: Kirsten Worker (Clevedon) Melanie’s Choice 1, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Loose Change 2, Holly Rose (Taupo) Pampero 3, Donna Atkinson (Te Puke) The Joker Maker 4, Emma Gaze (Ohaupo) Kowhai Bug 5, Samantha Mynott (Cambridge) Cornucopia 6.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Sophia Blackbourn (Hamilton) Blackall Park Romeo 1, Madison Jackson (Auckland) Kiwi Monarch 2, Olivia Newsom (Tauranga) Charmed Escudo MSNZ 3, Olivia Prendergast (Matamata) Stellar 4, Lucas Bremner (Northland) Triple Star Destiny’s Accolade 5, Tara Gower (Ohura) Double J Image 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Anna Kincheff (Rotorua) Red Socks 1, Carolyn Hooton (Matamata) Waitangi Chrome 2, Simone McConnell (Tauranga) Country Zena 3, Rosanna Dickson (Cambridge) DSE Exuberance 4, Anna Kincheff (Rotorua) On the Point Sandy 5, Jeremy Clark (Te Kauwhata) Dynavyte Cancion HSH 6.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Amanda Illston (Bombay) Bombino Bianco and Brooke Hawthorne (Cambridge) Latona =1.


Ultramox Six-Year-Old Series: Mackenzie Barclay (Taupo) Corolitta ECPH, Sophia Blackbourn (Hamilton) LT Holst Zalato Blue and Kristi Salonius (Cambridge) MF Starbound =1.


Equifest 1.35m Championship: Duncan McFarlane (Taupo) Be Mine NZPH 1, Emma Gaze (Ohaupo) Kowhai Bug 2, Olivia Dalton (Karaka) Cil Dara Bonaparte 3, Amanda Illston (Auckland) Verdelho 4, Vicki Prendergast (Matamata) Selena C 5, Olivia Newsom (Tauranga) Caretino Jewel 6.


For full results, head to www.main-events.com


By Diana Dobson
30 November 2020