Paula Mussen and Déjà Vu NZPH winners of the Harrison Lane Pro Amateur Rider Series at Woodhill Sands 19th-20th September 2020. Photo Credit: Hannah Comrie.

There was plenty of support for the opening Fiber Fresh Grand Prix Showjumping Spring Show at Woodhill Sands this weekend.

Organiser Angela Nobilo said the footing was near perfect for the two-day event which attracted big entries with long waiting lists. “We shut our entries off early and could have taken so many more but with COVID we erred on the side of caution,” said Angela.

“Auckland had really strong winds on Friday, flipping trucks on the Harbour Bridge, so set up was a bit challenging,” she said.

She praised the efforts of all who had attended the show. “Times are tough thanks to COVID and Auckland currently being in Alert Level 2.5, however we had a fantastic show with riders following guidelines so we could operate safely. It has meant a huge amount of administration to make it work with all classes drawn and no ringside prize presentations but it is worth it to be up and back doing our sport.”

In preparation for the Spring Show, Angela and her team had run a training show as well as small dressage and show hunter events. “We used them to test our systems and make sure they were robust before the challenge of a bigger show.”

The event was to be the final event of the Spring Series but the first two shows were cancelled due to lockdown.

Wayne Bragg designed the courses for ring one with Edward Bullock in ring two and Gina Moss in ring three.


Paula Mussen (Pukekohe) and her eight-year-old grey mare Déjà Vu NZPH were the only combination in the 10-strong Harrison Lane Pro Amateur Rider Series to finish the two rounds on zero faults. Just four came back for the jump-off with Paula crossing the flags in 44.35 seconds. Amanda Illston (Auckland) and Verdelho gave it their all, stopping the clock at 45.55 seconds, but picked up five penalties. Shelley Ross (Helensville) and Onward were third with six penalties in 46.23.


In the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series class, 13 of the 23 starters came back for the jump-off where the top six all continued to keep their slates clean. In the end, the day belonged to Lynette Jackson (Brookby) and her 10-year-old chestnut gelding Fortissimo who came home in 36.84 seconds. Simone McConnell (Tauranga) and Country Zena filled second spot in 37.74 seconds with Kelly Angell (Pukekohe) and Centavito third in 38.14.


Seventeen of the 36 starters in the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series class came back to jump-off for top honours. The top nine were all double clear with Lucas Bremner (Whangarei) and his nine-year-old Holsteiner mare Dynavyte Cancion HSH taking the honours with a slick 30.78-second effort. Sophia Hall (Auckland) and Blackall Park Pennylane flew in for second in 32.74, just ahead of Georgia Milner (Auckland) and Icebreaker MP who crossed the flags in 33.02.


Paxton Conder (Whatawhata) and La Fonteyn took the honours in the Fiber Fresh Horse Mini Prix 1.25m-1.3m with Liv Teixeira (Kerikeri) aboard EB Experanza winning the GJ Gardner Pony Mini Prix 1.1m-1.15m.


Results –


Harrison Lane Pro Amateur Rider Series (class sponsored by Burmester Realty): Paula Mussen (Pukekohe) Déjà vu NZPH 1, Amanda Illston (Bombay) Verdelho 2, Shelley Ross (Helensville) Onward 3, Robbie McKay (Opotiki) Jacksons Gold 4, Kylee McCambridge (Cambridge) Chicago 5, Sarah Young (Cambridge) Equador MW 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Lynette Jackson (Brookby) Fortissimo 1, Simone McConnell (Tauranga) Country Zena 2, Kelly Angell (Pukekohe) Centavito 3, Laura Daly (Papakura) Steppenwolf LS 4, Kelly Hawkeswood (Whitford) Sandiego LAD 5, Kelly Hawkeswood (Whitford) Little Curioso 6.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Lucas Bremner (Whangarei) Dynavyte Cancion HSH 1, Sophia Hall (Auckland) Blackall Park Pennylane 2, Georgia Milner (Auckland) Icebreaker MP 3, Nicole Lelean (Huapai) Sonic NZPH 4, Grace Benshaw (Waitoki) Amorcito 5, Amelie Chaplin (Auckland) Truman V 6.


Fiber Fresh Horse Mini Prix 1.25m-1.3m: Paxton Conder (Whatawhata) La Fonteyn 1, Isabelle Jameson (Whangarei) Di Caprio CSNZ 2, Paula Mussen (Pukekohe) Déjà vu NZPH 3, Maddison Greatorex (Waipu) Daisy Duke NZPH 4, Sam McIntosh (Cambridge) Takapoto Malarkey 5, Alexa Randall (Auckland) Carnival NZPH 6.


GJ Gardner Pony Mini Prix 1.1m-1.15m: Liv Teixeira (Kerikeri) EB Esperanza 1, Keira Page (Mystery Creek) Redcliffs Colour Me In 2, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Tony the Pony 3, Sophia Hall (Auckland) TCH Centadel 4, Amelia Munro (Paremoremo) MF Spot On 5, Kate Coppins (Morrinsville) Spanish Doll 6.


Full results can be found at .

By Diana Dobson
September 20, 2020