ESNZ high performance eventing manager Graeme Thom is buoyed to see new combinations stepping up into the new 2020 squads.

“Our most recent squad lists seem stark with the absences of (Sir) Mark (Todd) and Blyth (Tait) but it is very encouraging to have a number of new names and faces meeting the standards of our top groups,” he said.

The High Performance Squad comprises three riders with seven horses between them in Clarke Johnstone aboard Balmoral Sensation, Jonelle Price with both Classic Moet and Faerie Dianimo, and world No.2 Tim Price with Ascona M, Bango, Ringwood Sky Boy and Xavier Faer.

“It is equally comforting that they will dipping into a pool with many seasoned and well accomplished veterans to provide invaluable guidance,” says Graeme. “In such an important year, and soon a start to another exciting quadrennial, this group of talented athletes and horses is testimony to a strong program across both hemispheres.”

He felt it was also telling of the quality of those behind the riders. “It is recognition of the invaluable support that our committed and generous horse owners provide. We must also thank High Performance Sport New Zealand for their ongoing investment in our team and its culture.”

There have been six additions to the High Performance Futures Squad with Tim aboard Wesko and Falco, Jonelle and Grovine de Reve, Clarke and Aces High, Samantha Lissington and Ricker Ridge Sooty GNZ, James Avery aboard One of a Kind and New Zealand-based Monica Oakley with Acrobat. The new combinations join Amanda Pottinger on Just Kidding, Caroline Powell and On the Brash, Dan Jocelyn aboard Blackthorne Cruise, Jesse Campbell on Cleveland, and Madison Crowe with Waitangi Pinterest.

Three new combinations have been added to the High Performance Potential Squad in Donna Edwards-Smith, Diane Gilder and Bruce Haskell, who join Bundy Philpott, Emily Cammock, Ginny Thompson, Joe Myer, Matthew Grayling, Nick Brooks and Renee Faulkner.


High Performance Squad




Clarke Johnstone

Balmoral Sensation  

Johnstone Family

Jonelle Price

Classic Moet

Trisha Rickards & Jonelle Price

Jonelle Price

Faerie Dianimo

Trisha Rickards, Jacky Green & Jonelle Price

Tim Price

Ascona M

Suzanne Houchin, Lucy & Ben Sangster & Sir Peter Vela

Tim Price


Numero Uno Syndicate

Tim Price

Ringwood Sky Boy

Robert Taylor, Varenna Allen & Tim Price

Tim Price

Xavier Faer

Trisha Rickards, Nigella Hall & Tim Price

High Performance Futures Squad




Amanda Pottinger

Just Kidding

The Pottinger Family

Caroline Powell

On The Brash

Sarah and Andrew Tobey, Sue Smiley & Caroline Powell

Clarke Johnstone

Aces High

Johnstone Family

Dan Jocelyn

Blackthorn Cruise

Panda Christie & Dan Jocelyn

James Avery

One of A Kind

Hazel & Chloe Livesey & James Avery

Jesse Campbell


Kent Gardner & Jesse Campbell

Jonelle Price

Grovine de Reve

Therese Miller, Jo Preston-Hunt, Philip Hunt & Jonelle Price

Maddison Crowe

Waitangi Pinterest

Crowe Family

Monica Oakley


Monica Oakley

Samantha Lissington

Ricker Ridge Sooty GNZ

Pip McCarroll & Samantha Lissington

Tim Price


Sue Benson, Jackie Oliver & Tim Price

Tim Price


The Windrush Equestrian Foundation & Tim Price

High Performance Potential Squad



Bruce Haskell


Buddy Philpott


Diane Gilder


Donna Edwards-Smith

Te Kauwhata

Emily Cammock


Ginny Thompson


Joe Meyer


Matthew Grayling


Nick Brooks


Renee Faulkner


By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison