Simon Wilson & McMillans Ariados seen here with FEI Level 3 Judge, Fiona Bentley win the Equissage Horse Grand Prix at Taranaki Jumping Show 24-26 January 2020
Photo Credit: Cheleken Equestrian


Simon Wilson made the most of returning to his ‘local’ show, with a win in the Equissage Horse Grand Prix at the Taranaki Jumping Show.

The Waipukurau horseman grew up in Waverley and loves nothing more than heading back to his childhood hunting ground. He and 10-year-old McMillans Ariados headed home a very competitive 23-strong field to take the honours after a fast-paced jump-off that could have gone to any of the top five.

Simon was last to go and knew he had to beat young gun Annabel Francis (Taupo) aboard La Quinara who was double clear in 45.75 seconds. Simon said while his plan was to go clear over the Philippa Howells-designed course, he took a few short cuts.

“I really didn’t think I could beat them,” he said. “However, there was an inside turn and I cut a stride out in the last jump that helped my time. I was going quicker than I thought.”

Simon Wilson & McMillans Ariados on their way to win the Equissage Horse Grand Prix at Taranaki Jumping Show 24-26 January 2020
Photo Credit: Cheleken Equestrian

It helped McMillans Ariados is a big forward going type of horse. It is their third season together and just their second Grand Prix win – the previous one was at Wairoa last year. He bought the South Island-bred horse from Susie Hayward whose daughter Genevieve had started him. “She did a really good job of producing him,” says Simon who has taken his time getting their partnership together. “It is about keeping him happy. He is a bit of a character and quite playful but a nice horse to ride who enjoys jumping.”

Simon was full of praise for those behind the Taranaki Show. “They try very hard to run a good show and they do a great job.”

Annabel came in for second in the Grand Prix, and also picked up fifth place aboard the imported Carado GHP. Robert Steele (Dannevirke) and LT Holst Bernadette filled third place with their 50.17-second effort and Logan Massie (Dannevirke) aboard Intellect was fourth with four faults, in 41.46 seconds.

Simon and McMillans Ariados also picked up fourth place in the FEI CSI1* class which was won by Rachel Malcolm aboard Tash Brooks’ Twerk with Nakeysha Lammers (Taranaki) second on Resolution and Clarke Johnstone (Matangi) and Quainton Labyrinth third.

Twenty-two started the class with the top five all double clear. Rachel and Twerk flew home in 44.14 seconds to take the win ahead of Nakeysha who stopped the clock at 45.91.

Aimee Collinson & Moonlight Glow winners of the Country TV Pony Grand Prix at Taranaki Jumping Show 24-26 January 2020.
Photo Credit: Cheleken Photography

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix six of the 10 starters came back for the jump-off where Aimee Collinson (Clevedon) and Moonlight Glow were just too good, coming home double clear in 40.34 seconds. Fifth placed Madison Jackson (Pukekohe) and Rednalhgih Cowan were the fastest of the jump-off, stopping the clock at 39.58 seconds but paid for their speed with a rail. All of the top four were double clear.


Results –

Equissage Horse Grand Prix – in memory of Jude Watt: Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Ariados 1, Annabel Francis (Taupo) La Quinara 2, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) Lt Holst Bernadette 3, Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Intellect 4, Annabel Francis (Taupo) Carado GHP 5, Sarah West (Matamata) Oaks Centurian 6.


FEI CSI1*: Rachel Malcolm (Cambridge) Twerk 1, Nakeysha Lammers (Taranaki) Resolution 2,

Clarke Johnstone (Matangi) Quainton Labyrinth 3; Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Ariados 4, Sally Steiner (Tauranga) Cartoon NZPH 5, Bernard Denton (Feilding) Horsesports Sequel 6.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Aimee Collinson (Clevedon) Moonlight Glow 1, Sophia Hall (Auckland) TCH Centadel 2, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Colours of Lansing 3, Katie Readings (Pukekawa) Rump Shaker 4, Madison Jackson (Pukekohe) Rednalhgih Cowan 5, Tara Gower (Ohura) Ngahiwi Roany Pony 6.


FMG Young Rider: Nicola Hammond (Cambridge) Carlo I 1, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Fiber Fresh Veroana 2, Sarah West (Matamata) Oaks Centurian 3, Parys Marshall (Taranaki) LG Whata Balou 4, Brigitte Smith (Taihape) HR Lanardo 5, Anneke van Rooyen (Taumarunui) Double J Monarch 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider: Paxton Conder (Whatawhata) La Fonteyn 1, Lucy Fell (Palmerston North) Faratona STS 2, Tors Rattray (Matarangi) Larmani MVNZ 3, Kylee McCambridge (Cambridge) Chicago 4, Madison Crowe (Matangi) Waitangi Pinterest 5, Phillip Steiner (Tauranga) Cassina Dior 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider: Jill Watson (Stratford) Oh My Holly 1, Jessie Goggin (Waikanae) Miss Cassini MS 2, Jackie Jermyn (Matangi) Chalo ECPH 3, Amelia Clark (Auckland) Master of Hossack 4, Kelsea O’Connor (Palmerston North) Centiare 5, Skye Loveridge-Easther (Taranaki) Detailed MSH 6.


Equifibre Junior Rider: Caira Manson (Auckland) TP All Class 1, Sophia Blackbourn (Hamilton) Blackall Park Romeo 2, Sophie Littlewood (Auckland) Peak Wood Quiz GNZ 3, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Promise 4, Amelia Chaplin (Auckland) Truman V 5, Madison Jackson (Pukekohe) Kiwi Monarch 6.


Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old: Parys Marshall (Taranaki) LG Whata Balou 1, Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Kelvin 2, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Constellation 3, Abigail Long (Levin) Henton Audacious 4, Phillip Steiner (Tauranga) Cassina Dior 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Sun Flake 6.


Cheleken Equestrian and UltraMox Six-Year-Old: Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Avenger Xtreme, Nicola Hammond (Cambridge) Enya NZPH, Jaime Tiller (Cambridge) Casanova Xtreme and Maya Hegh (Taupaki) Encore NZPH =1.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old: Marie Baumgart (Cambridge) Fiesta NZPH, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Fiber Fresh Kasalla, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Hurricane and Kimberley Carrington (Takapau) Double J Bar Girl =1.


Diamond Lodge North Island Area Teams’ Event: Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Centaur, Katharine Van Tuyl (Palmerston North) Centavino and Lucy Fell (Palmerston North) Faratona STS 1; Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Tiraumea Logan, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) Two Eye See and Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Breeze On 2.


By Diana Dobson

28 January 2020