A day trip to Waimate for the South Canterbury North Otago Area Championships paid off for Rose Alfeld when she won the Equissage in conjunction with SCNO Patron Ron Williamson Horse Grand Prix riding her home-bred gelding My Super Nova.

Five riders returned for the second round of competition with My Super Nova jumping the only clear to take the win. Molly Buist-Brown and Vali finished 2nd, Kimberleigh McCabe on Kace were 3rd. Lucinda Askin riding Portafino placed 4th and Olivia Robertson with Grandaire finished 5th.

SCNO Area Patron Ray Ward-Smith and his wife Kath sponsored the Country TV Pony Grand Prix and were on hand to present the winner Sophie Geddes with a Flower Garland and Rosette. Sophie and the former polo pony Te Ngaio Raggamuffin were the only combination to jump double clear.

Five riders returned for the Jump-off in the Harrison Lane Pro-Am Series Class, last to go was Katie Meredith riding Westgrove GNZ, they finished with a time of 34.03 which was fast enough to win. Chris Harris and Commissioner were second with a time of 34.90, Katie riding her nominated horse Ngahiwi Double Cross jumped clear with a time of 36.53 to finish third.

The Equifibre Junior Rider Class was taken out by Rosa Buist-Brown riding her sister Molly’s horse Vali. There was a competitive Jump-off after seven combinations jumped clear in the first round. Rosa and Vali were double clear in a time of 33.61 to win, with Noah Coutts riding Surreal coming in second with a time of 33.81. Third place was Sophie Townsend riding Kingslea Kiwi in a time of 34.65.

With the only clear round, Mackenzie Causer and Finch Farm Lasall took out the FMG Young Rider for the second week in a row. Blenheim rider Georgia Reid made the big trip South worthwhile winning the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider riding Double J Escape.

The South Canterbury Saddlery Ring 1 Course Designer Roger Laplanche had a lot of fun on Sunday morning with the Table C Speed Classes, which included building a curved quadruple. Tony Hutton designed the Mainland Coachwork Ring 2 and Emma Barker was the designer in Ring 3.

Equissage Horse Grand Prix Series (Sponsored by Ron Williamson)

1 – Rose Alfed & My Super Nova

2 – Molly Buist-Brown & Vali

3 – Kimberleigh McCabe & Kace

4 – Lucinda Askin & Portofino

5 – Olivia Robertson & Grandaire

Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series (Sponsored by Ray & Kath Ward-Smith)

1 – Sophie Geddes & Te Ngaio Raggamuffin

2 – Emma Gillies & Benrose Playtime

3 – Johanna Wylaars & Wembleybrooke Tiffany

4 – Samantha Gillies & Junior Disco

5 – Ella Wylie & MF Spot Me

6 – Cara Quinn & Ellen Vanin Untouchable

Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series

1 – Georgia Reid & Double J Escape

2 – Talia Allison & Mustang Shelby

3 – David Hutton & Rolux

4 – Kate Taylor & London

5 – Margaret Ridley & Tallaght

6 – Louisa McClintock & Woodbine Orlando

Equifibre Junior Rider Series

1 – Rosa Buist-Brown & Vali

2 – Noah Coutts & Surreal

3 – Sophie Townsend & Kingslea Kiwi

4 – Anna Nalder & Icebreaker II

5 – Olivia Adams & Castelada II

6 – Margot Curtis & Flirtini

FMG Young Rider Series

1 – Makenzie Causer & Finch Farm Lasall

2 – Jaimee Bird & Euro Champagne

3 – Molly Buist-Brown & Vali

4 – Jordan van Miltenberg & Truly Unique

5 – Olivia Brown & RH Kukumoa

Harrison Lane Pro-Am Rider Series

1 – Katie Meredith & Westgrove GNZ

2 – Chris Harris & Commissioner

3 – Katie Meredith & Ngahiwi Double Cross

4 – Amy McMullan & Silversmith

5 – Lauren Buckley & Icey Storm

6 – Harry Feast & Acolade HSH

2 December 2019