LT Holst Bernadette is making up for lost time. The Robert Steele-ridden 11-year-old Holsteiner mare was out with injury last season, but today she made short work of the rest of the small but quality field in the Equissage Horse Grand Prix at the Feilding IA&P Show.

Just Robert and Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) aboard the feisty Gold Locks came back for the jump-off over the Gary Sinclair-designed course. Robert was first out and with a plan to put plenty of pressure on the former Olympian to follow. He did just that, coming home double clear in 48.28 seconds. Maurice and Gold Locks took a few rails before calling it a day and settling for second place.

Robert was thrilled with LT Holst Bernadette who he has had for three years. “I am very happy with her,” said the sheep and beef farmer from Dannevirke. “With her injury, it was just a matter of giving her time and everything seems to be going nicely.”

He’s hopeful of having her ready for the opening World Cup round at Hastings next month. They’ve done well in the league before with a third place finish at Hawera a couple of seasons back.

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, Katie Bridgeman (Auckland) and Tallyho Scoundrel secured the win in the first round as the only combination to go clear.


Results –


Equissage Horse Grand Prix: Robert Steele (Dannevirke) LT Holst Bernadette 1, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Gold Locks 2, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Cardo 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 4, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Centaur 5, Isabella Harley (Wellington) Brainy G 6.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Katie Bridgeman (Auckland) Tallyho Scoundrel 1, Annie Airey (Okuku ) Redcliffs Kodak Moment 2, Lily Carpenter (Taihape) Tallyho Mystic 3.


Equifibre Junior Rider Series: Parys Marshall (New Plymouth) LG Whata Balou 1, Kimberly Carrington (Takapau) Double J Barmaid 2, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Breeze On 3, Millie Brinsdon ( Cromwell) Lanius GNZ 4, Leah McKay (Levin) My Razzle Dazzle 5, Lily Carpenter (Taihape) Kinnordy Rhani 6.


FMG Young Rider Series: Nicholas O’Leary (Wanganui) Centiare 1, Blake David (Palmerston North) Giggles 2, Ike Baker (Hastings) Hawkesdale Mahe 3, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Lakota 4, Ike Baker (Hastings) Vidal NZPH 5, Hana Bognuda (Wanganui) Dancing Diamond 6.


Dunstan Amateur Rider Series: Ashley Johnston (Wellington) Miss Vee NZPH 1, Holly Rose (Taupo) Pampero 2, Janine Kirkbeck ( Wellington) Kiwi Exalt 3, Sacha Rennie (Palmerston North) Aldebaran Star 4, Jessica Giles (Upper Hutt) Dining at Dusk 5, Bailey Marshall (New Plymouth) Kiwi Jet 6.