The South Canterbury North Otago area hosted the last show of the South Island season over the weekend at the Southern Canterbury A&P Showgrounds in Waimate. After having to cancel their December Show due to wet conditions the committee opted to reschedule for this date. Over 200 combinations made the most of the late season show and competed in two Show Jumping and a Show Hunter ring.


The SCNO area committee chose Molly Buist-Brown and Vali as deserving winners of the Celia Meares Tray for the Best Presented and Conditioned Horse at the show. The award finished a very successful weekend for the combination. Molly was thrilled when Vali won his first cover when taking out the Overall South Canterbury Saddlery Horse Speed Series for the season. They also won the FMG Young Rider class, producing a lovely round.


Tayler Nalder and Sophie Townsend have been the ones to beat all season in the South Island Junior Rider Classes and Saturday was no different. Both riders were clear in round one of the Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Junior Rider class. Tayler on Icebreaker II were out first to jump off and they came home in the fast time of 42.69 but the second last rail fell for four faults. Sophie and Kingslea Kiwi finished clear in a time of 53.50 to win.   


There was a SCNO rider Quinella in the Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Pro Am Rider class. Kate Cavanagh and her Seven Year old mare Wallflower finished a very successful season when jumping double clear to win. Amy McMullan and Silversmith placed second after dropping a rail in a fast jump off.


The Hinterland Amateur Rider Series had six clear first rounds from twenty starters. Margaret Ridley and Tallaght were first out in the Jump Off and their clear round time of 47.34 proved unbeatable securing the win. Kate Perry and Casiraghi were out next and finished in second place, clear in a time of 49.50. Emma Waite and Renoir NZPH placed third clear in 50.19.


The Show marked the end of the SCNO area Show Jumping series classes with a rug presented for the winners and tri coloured sashes to sixth place.


Local rider Emma Gillies and Benrose Eclipse were clear winners of the Barber Well Drilling Pony Speed Series after having three wins and two placings over the six rounds.  


Michelle Marais and her six year old gelding Bellwood Bandit were overall winners of the Jordan Dent Farrier Horse 1m series.


The Round Hill Ski Area Pony 90cm series had a close finish.

Pip Eason and Diamond Cheval took the overall win on 16 points, just ahead of Maygen Gubb on Foxley Pocket Rocket’s 15 points.  Summer Borrie and Missing Pieces were third overall with 14 points.


The Crombie Lockwood non series Grand Prix classes were won by Tegan Fitzsimon on Double J Monarch and Madeline Woods on Galaxy Masterpiece. Emma Barker designed the South Canterbury Saddlery ring 1 and Chris Johnson the Mainland Coachwork Ring 2.    


Results –

FMG Young Rider Series 125-135cm
1st Vali – Molly Buist-Brown (Canterbury)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider Series 115-125cm
1st Kingslea Kiwi – Sophie Townsend (Canterbury)
2nd Icebreaker II – Tayler Nalder (Canterbury)
3rd Toulou – Grace Manera (Canterbury)
4th Hammertime – Caitlin Adams (Canterbury)
5th Mr Gregory – Pippa Collins (Otago)
6th Enzo GTO – Milly Robinson (Otago)

Junior Rider Equitation Phase
1st Kingslea Kiwi – Sophie Townsend (Canterbury)
2nd= Hammertime – Caitlin Adams (Canterbury)
2nd= Toulou – Grace Manera (Canterbury)
4th Icebreaker II – Tayler Nalder (Canterbury)
5th Mr Gregory – Pippa Collins (Otago)


Hinterland Amateur Rider Series 110-120cm
1st  Tallaght – Margaret Ridley (Canterbury)
2nd Casiraghi – Kate Perry (Ashburton)
3rd Renoir NZPH – Emma Waite (Ashburton)
4th Bellwood Bandit – Michelle Marais (Canterbury)
5th Ascari – Anna Crooks
6th Emilio MSH – Jess Land (Canterbury)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Pro-Am Rider Series 120-130cm
1st  Wallflower – Kate Cavanagh (SCNO)
2nd Silversmith – Amy McMullan (SCNO)    
3rd  Grandaire – Olivia Robertson (Otago)
4th Ngahiwi Double Cross – Katie Meredith (Canterbury)
5th Icey Storm – Lauren Buckley (Otago)


South Canterbury Saddlery SCNO Speed Horse Series Overall  
1st Vali – Molly Buist-Brown (Canterbury)
2nd Enzo GTO – Milly Robinson (Otago)
3rd Bonjour SPH – Harry Feast (Canterbury)
4th Mr Jerraco – Morgan Baddeley (Canterbury)
5th Blythburn Coruba – Carissa McGregor (Canterbury)
6th Emilio MSH – Jess Land (Canterbury)


Barber Well Drilling SCNO Speed Pony Series Overall 
1st Benrose Eclipse – Emma Gillies (SCNO)
2nd Galaxy Disco Fever II – Alyssa Ward (Canterbury)
3rd Junior Disco – Samantha Gillies (SCNO)
4th Glenardon Sky High –Molly Moffat (Canterbury)
6th Galaxy Knight Out – Cara Quin (Otago)


Jordan Dent Farrier SCNO Horse 1m Series Overall
1st   Bellwood Bandit – Michelle Marais (Canterbury)
2nd Rednalhgih Galaxy Fleur Dior’ – Kayla Wilson (Otago)
3rd Oranoa Foxy – Jackie Wear (Ashburton)
4th Tikity Tok – Sarah Hay (Otago)
5th Rock A Bella – Makaela Bruce (SCNO
6th RH Armarni – Melissa Pateman (SCNO)


Roundhill Ski Area SCNO Pony 90cm Series Overall
1st Diamond Cheval – Pip Eason (Otago)
2nd Foxley Pocket Rocket – Maygen Gubb (SCNO)
3rd Missing Pieces – Summer Borrie (SCNO)
4th The White Mouse – Summer Borrie (SCNO) 
5th Galaxy Knight Out – Cara Quin (Otago)
6th Mustand Prince Charming – Cara Quin (Otago)