The fast-approaching Tokyo Olympic Games have been front of mind for eventing selectors as they scrutinized New Zealand’s top-performing combinations to decide the 2019 ESNZ Eventing High Performance Squads.

Clarke Johnstone (Matangi) and Balmoral Sensation remain the only New Zealand based combination on the High Performance Squad where they sit alongside Sir Mark Todd with NZB Campino, Leonidas II, Kiltubrid Rhapsody and McClaren. Tim and Jonelle Price have two horses each on the squad in Ringwood Sky Boy and Bango for Tim and Classic Moet and Faerie Dianimo for Jonelle.  

The High Performance Squad comprises horse and rider combinations committed to and capable of contributing to a podium team placing at the 2020 Olympic Games.

Tim also has horses Xavier Faer and Ascona M on the High Performance Futures squad. Hawke’s Bay-based Amanda Pottinger and Just Kidding have made the step up to the squad along with Dan Jocelyn on Grovine de Reve, Caroline Powell with On the Brash, Jesse Campbell on Amsterdam 21 and Blyth Tait aboard Havanna. The High Performance Futures Squad consists of those combinations that are knocking on the door to high performance.

The High Performance Potential Squad (previously known as the Future Potential Recognition squad) is aimed as recognising talented eventing riders that are capable of and committed to producing high performance horses for future Olympic Games and World Equestrian Games.

The squad features a few changes including new members Hayley Frielick (Australia), Monica Oakley and Abby Lawrence, who join James Avery, Samantha Lissington (nee Felton), Ginny Thompson, Joe Meyer, Nick Brooks, Donna Edwards-Smith and Bundy Philpott.

The Performance Squads – the Talent Development and Talent Identification squads – were announced earlier in the year.Selectors examine the high performance squads every six months.


 High Performance Squad




Clarke Johnstone   

Balmoral Sensation

Johnstone Family

Jonelle Price

Classic Moet

Trisha Rickards and Jonelle Price

Jonelle Price

Faerie Dianimo

Trisha Rickards, Jacky Green and Jonelle Price

Sir Mark Todd

NZB Campino

New Zealand Bloodstock and Sir Mark Todd

Sir Mark Todd

Leonidas II

Diane Brunsden, Peter Cattell and Sir Mark Todd

Sir Mark Todd

Kiltubrid Rhapsody

Dr Elizabeth Donald & Niki Ryan

Sir Mark Todd


David and Katherine Thomson

Tim Price

Ringwood Sky Boy

Robert Taylor, Varenna Allen, Tim Price and

Tim Price


Numero Uno Syndicate

 High Performance Futures Squad




Amanda Pottinger

Just Kidding

The Pottinger Family

Blyth Tait


Katherine Corich, Jane Lovell-Smith, John Ormiston

Dan Jocelyn

Grovine de Reve

Therese Miller, Jo Preston-Hunt, Philip Hunt and Dan Jocelyn

Caroline Powell

On The Brash

Sarah Tobey and Sue Smiley

Jesse Campbell

Amsterdam 21

Dr Craig Campbell

Tim Price

Xavier Faer

Trisha Rickards, Nigella Hall and Tim Price

Tim Price

Ascona M

Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela

High Performance Potential Squad
Abby Lawrence (Te Puke)
Buddy Philpott (Cambridge)
Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata)
Ginny Thompson (Kaukapakapa)
Hayley Frielick (Australia)
James Avery (UK)
Joe Meyer (USA)
Monica Oakley (Pukekohe)
Nick Brooks (Cambridge)
Samantha Lissington (nee Felton) (Hamilton)


By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison