Photos: Elise Ford Photography


Fine weather and beautiful ground conditions made for a super weekend of jumping at the Ashburton Area Show Jumping and Show Hunter Show over the weekend. After being forced to cancel their November Show the day before due to very wet conditions they were able to reschedule to this date. The Ashburton Trust and Lion Foundation Ring One was designed by Lex Peddie. Roger Laplanche designed Ring Two and Ring Three course designer was Tony Hutton.


First up for the series classes on Saturday was the Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Pro Am Rider Series. Out first in the two horse jump off Mary Wakeman and MJ Lubeck finished in a fast time of 50.54 but had a rail down at the second to last fence. Amy McMullan and Silversmith finished clear in 55.34 to win their first Pro Am Series class. Amy has recently successfully stepped up to 130cm classes with Silversmith and said “I’m very pleased with the way he jumped, we were aiming for a double clear today over a tricky course so the win was a bonus.” Silversmith is a ten year old gelding by Euro Sport Centavos out of the Grand Prix pony Exceptional. Amy purchased him two years ago from his breeder Tanya Hansen.        


The course in the FMG Young Rider proved influential with only three of the seven starters completing it. Olivia Brown and RH Kukumoa made it look easy jumping the only clear round to record their first Young Rider victory. Vali and Molly Buist-Brown finished second after picking up one time fault and Kaitlin Feast on Double J Barman were third on four faults. 


The Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Junior rider was won by Pippa Collins. Riding Mr Gregory, Pippa finished on top after a four way jump off. Class sponsor Greg Jopson from Property Brokers was on hand to present his goddaughter with the first prize ribbon. Greg is a long time family friend and Pippa said “I went into the ring just hoping to do well but to win for him was amazing”. Pippa has won a Junior Rider class at Southland and had a number of placings on Mr Gregory since taking over the ride on him at the start of this season from her older sister Bridget, who he competed successfully with at Young Rider level.


The Hinterland Amateur Rider class had increasingly fast times in the jump off. First to go Jess Land and Emilio MSH were clear in 40.09 which eventually saw them finish fourth. Next out Kate Perry and Casiraghi stopped the clock at 39.90 to take over the lead. Angela Ruddenklau and Anthem finished in 38.12 but four faults saw them place fifth. A rail also fell for Jack Ford and BMW Leo Silver to see them finish sixth in 38.64. Margaret Ridley and Tallaght came in clear with 36.68 for second with the win going to David Hutton riding his homebred horse Rolux clear in a time of 35.31.     


Tegan Fitzsimon and Double J Monarch won the Equissage Horse Grand Prix ahead of Kimberleigh McCabe and Kace.


A double clear round in the Country TV Pony Grand Prix saw Sophie Geddes on Benrose Silver Shadow win the class and add to an impressive list of recent wins for Sophie. In second place was local rider Harriet Stock who finished on a two round total of four faults with EB Esperanza to continue their consistent start at Pony Grand Prix level this season.




Equissage Horse Grand Prix Series 140-150cm (Sponsored by Wholesale Seeds)

1st Double J Monarch – Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury)

2nd Kace – Kimberleigh McCabe (Southland)    


Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series 120-130cm (Sponsored by Isuzu Mid Canterbury)

1st Benrose Silver Shadow – Sophie Geddes (Canterbury)

2nd EB Esperanza – Harriet Stock (Ashburton)

3rd Bizzie Canoodling – Noah Coutts (Otago)

4th Ellen Vanin Untouchable – Rosa Buist-Brown (Canterbury)

5th Harrison James – Polly Harper (SCNO)


FMG Young Rider Series 125-135cm (Sponsored by Mainland Coachwork)

1st  RH Kukumoa – Olivia Brown (Otago)

2nd Vali – Molly Buist-Brown (Canterbury)

3rd  Double J Barman – Kaitlin Feast (Canterbury)


Hinterland Amateur Rider Series 110-120cm (Sponsored by Orari Estate)

1st  Rolux – David Hutton (SCNO)

2nd Tallaght – Margaret Ridley (Canterbury)

3rd Casiraghi – Kate Perry (Ashburton)

4th Emilio MSH – Jess Land (Canterbury)

5th Anthem – Angela Ruddenklau (Canterbury)

6th BMW Leo Silver – Jack Ford (Kaikoura)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider Series 115-125cm (Sponsored by Property Brokers – Greg Jopson)

1st Mr Gregory – Pippa Collins (Otago)

2nd Icebreaker II – Tayler Nalder (Canterbury)

3rd Kingslea Kiwi – Sophie Townsend (Canterbury)

4th Paintball – Georgia Allison (Canterbury)

5th Extravaganza – Noah Coutts (Otago)Hammertime – Caitlin Adams (Canterbury)

6th Glenmark – Molly Moffat (Canterbury)


Junior Rider Equitation Phase

1st Paintball – Georgia Allison (Canterbury)

2nd Kingslea Kiwi – Sophie Townsend (Canterbury)

3rd Icebreaker II – Tayler Nalder (Canterbury)

4th Hammertime – Caitlin Adams (Canterbury)

5th Extravaganza – Noah Coutts (Otago)

6th Mr Gregory – Pippa Collins (Otago)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Pro-Am Rider Series 120-130cm (Sponsored by Dave Thomson Harcourts Rural)

1st Silversmith – Amy McMullan (SCNO)  

2nd MJ Lubeck – Mary Wakeman (Canterbury)   

3rd Wallflower – Kate Cavanagh (SCNO)

4th Donala Dundee – Angela Frewer (Canterbury)

5th Burberry – Zoe Shore (Ashburton)

6th  Gingerlily – Kerry Winterbourne (Canterbury)


Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix (Sponsored by Hayden McKenzie)

1st Donala Dundee – Angela Frewer (Canterbury)  

2nd Alacazam MH – Tegan Fitzsimon (Canterbury)  

3rd Double J Bouncer – Harry Feast (Canterbury)  

4th RH Kukumoa – Olivia Brown (Otago)


Tony Archibald Memorial Horse Championship 125cm (Sponsored by Carrfields Grain and Seed)

1st Kingslea Kiwi – Sophie Townsend (Canterbury)

2nd Cadenza NZPH – Rose Alfeld (Canterbury)

3rd Wallflower – Kate Cavanagh (SCNO)

4th Double J Barman – Kaitlin Feast (Canterbury)

5th Silversmith – Amy McMullan (SCNO)

6th Smartymarty – Kate Beattie (Otago)


Story: Anna Douglass
Photos: Elise Ford Photography