Tegan Fitzsimon rides Windermere Cappuccino in the World Cup Qualifier Round, Taupo Christmas Classic 2018, National Equestrian Centre, Taupo, Saturday, December 15 2018.
Credit: KAMPIC / Sarah Lord

Tegan Fitzsimon just gave herself a super shot at winning the prestigious FEI (NZ) World Cup Series with her second victory aboard Windermere Cappuccino, this time at the Central and Southern Hawke’s Bay Showjumping Championships in Dannevirke.

It was their third start in the World Cup Series and their third double clear for a record of two wins and a second. For the 28-year-old rider, anything else now will be a bonus.

“He feels he is getting better and better the more starts he does at that level,” said Tegan. “He is pretty special though and a bit of a freak. He had proved himself to me more than enough this season – I can’t expect him to keep going double clear!”

Thirteen combinations were challenged by course designer Roger Laplanche in the opener, with eight with eight faults or less coming back for the second round – three of who sat on zero faults.

First out in the second round was Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) and LT Holst Andrea who had two down, stopping the clock at 51.36 seconds. Logan Massie (Dannevirke) and Intellect were next but retired after a run of rails mid-course. Nicola Hammond (Cambridge) aboard Carlo I and Lily Tootill (Karaka) aboard Ulysses NZPH each had a trio of fences down to both finish on 16 faults from the two rounds, with Lily three seconds faster. Melody Matheson (Hastings) and Graffiti MH who were carrying four faults from the opener, put the pressure on those to follow with a lovely clear round, coming home in 49.36 seconds, and finishing the class with four faults in second spot. It was down to the clears from the opening round to keep their slates clean.

Tegan and Windermere Cappuccino rose to the challenge with a super slick clear in 49.41 seconds. Claudia Hay (Tokoroa) and her lovely stallion Euro Sport Centavos chased it hard and appeared to be back in their top form but dropped the second to last fence to finish on four faults in 53.33 seconds for third place. Taupo teen Briar Burnett-Grant was looking to repeat her World Cup win at Dannevirke in 2018 but it wasn’t to be. Fiber Fresh Veroana took two fences to finish with eight faults in 44.98 seconds for fourth.

Tegan made the 12.5 hour trek from her West Melton base in Canterbury on New Year’s Eve, spending the evening at Otaki Race Course with her horses Double J Monarch and Windermere Cappuccino as well as her mum and groom. While she had entered the final next weekend at the Continental Cars World Cup Festival at Waitemata, it was still very much up in the air. “The plan was just to see how they both went this week.” Tegan has had Windermere Cappuccino since he was a four-year-old when he came to her to be sold. She now co-owns him with his breeders, the Parkes Family from Windermere Farm in Marlborough.

Double J Monarch was also a star in her rider’s books with just five faults in the opening round. However, Tegan opted not to start her in the second round when a slight injury flared up after the opener. “It was quite a big track and she just didn’t need to go out there.”

Both horses will get foodie treats this evening and the teetotalling Tegan says she just may crack open a Fanta or Sprite to celebrate.


Results –

FEI World Cup (NZ) Qualifier: Tegan Fitzsimon (West Melton) Windermere Cappuccino 1, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Graffiti MH 2, Claudia Hay (Tokoroa) Euro Sport Centavos 3, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Fiber Fresh Veroana 4, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Andrea 5, Lily Tootill (Karaka) Ulysses NZPH 6.

Country TV John Gilliland Memorial Pony Grand Prix: Peita Milne (Nelson) BG Lennox 1, Chantelle Smith (Manawatu) Finch 2, Tyla Hackett (Auckland) The Dreamer 3, Olivia Apatu (Hawke’s Bay) Alassan Arzu 4, Luke Myers (Wanganui) Te Urewera Magic 5.

FMG Young Rider Series: Emily Hayward (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 1, Nicola Hammond (Cambridge) Carlo I 2, Drew Carson (Putaruru) Winston V Driene 3, Annabel Francis (Taupo) Carado GHP 4, Todd Magner (Hokitika) Awatuna Jonesy 5, Oliver Croucher (Cambridge) Waitangi Surf 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds and EquiFibre Junior Rider Series: Ally Carson (Putaruru) Whiorau Ritchie 1, Samantha Carrington (Waipukurau) Double J Breeze On 2, Sophie Townsend (Darfield) Kingslea Kiwi 3, Ike Baker (Hawke’s Bay) Vidal NZPH 4, Peita Milne (Nelson) Global PH Licorice 5, Annabel Francis (Taupo) La Riviere 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds and EquiFibre Pro Am Rider Series: Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 1, Lucy Fell (Manawatu) Faratona STS 2, Phillip Steiner (Tauranga) Kiwi Sunup 3, Anna Parsons (Hawke’s Bay) Arrhythmic NZPH 4, Tracy Mason (Napier) WP Stella 5, Dirk Waldin (Hastings) Good Time 6.

Hinterland Amateur Rider Series: Holly Baines (Gisborne) Halo 1, Jo Andrews (Otaki) Ecxtacy 2, Kaleigh Kent (Otane) Double J Sponge Bob Square Pants 3, Lisa Davidson (Masterton) London Porter 4, Bailey Marshall (Taranaki) Delaney 5, Jacqui Symes (Waipukurau) Double J Recall 6.

Main-Events University Series: Melody Matheson (Hastings) Illusion SSH 1, Brigitte Smith (Taihape) HR Lanardo 2.

East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Luke Dee (Levin) Chic Xtreme, Anna Parsons (Hawke’s Bay) Snapchat Me and Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Jay-Z GNZ =1.

Mitavite Speedi Beet Six-Year-Old Series: Courtney Townsend (Darfield) Adele, Tegan Fitzsimon (West Melton) Campari, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Constellation and Georgia Percy (Masterton) Double J Image =1.

Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series: Jesse Linton (Hastings) Vitess 1, Sally Steiner (Tauranga) Cartoon NZPH 2, Dirk Waldin (Hawke’s Bay) Good Time 3, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Carnival NZPH 4, Luke Dee (Levin) Numero Uno Xtreme 5, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) Two Eye See 6.

Dr Feelgood Area Teams Competition: Waikato 1, Longridge Central and Southern Hawke’s Bay 2, Central Districts 3, Northern Hawke’s Bay 4. Leaderboard (after three rounds): Longridge Central Hawke’s Bay 12 1, Waikato 11 2, EquiFibre Bay of Plenty and Northern Hawke’s Bay 9 =3, Central Districts 2 5, Maxlife Batteries Waitemata 1 6.