Melody Matheson and Graffiti MH were too good for the rest of the field in the ESNZ Premier League Horse Grand Prix at the Wairarapa Showjumping and Show Hunter Labour Weekend Championships in Masterton.

Seven started the class over the Heather MacDonald-designed course at the Solway Showgrounds, with four coming back for the second round. Melody and Graffiti notched the only clear of the opener, with young gun Steffi Whittaker (Christchurch) aboard her lovely stallion Eros K and Helen McNaught (Taupo) on Kiwi Bird bagging four faults apiece and Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) aboard Mandalay Cove on eight.

The second round saw everyone go clear, but Melody’s double won the day. “Today was very good,” she said. “I was a bit gutted it was two rounds because we were the only clear and it’s been a big week of jumping. With Steffi and Helen both clear and fast, the pressure was on to jump a clear round.”

But she needn’t have worried, the very fit Graffiti finished the second round ready to go again. “The course was good. She (Heather) had a related line through the middle that some found difficult and there were probably a couple of bigger fences towards the end of the course, but overall it wasn’t bad for a premier.”

It is the Hasting’s combination’s third grand prix win of the season and their first premier victory for 2018-2019. They were also second to Maurice in the Phillipa Howells-designed CSI1* 1.4m with the fastest time in the second round, but their inside turn to an oxer resulted in a rail.

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, it turned into a head-to-head between Emma Watson (Morrinsville) aboard Maddox Fun House and Luke Myers (Marton) on Te Urewera Magic. Four of the initial nine starters came back for the jump-off where Emma and Luke kept their slates clean, however Fun House’s 38.64 second effort just edged out Magic’s 39.46.

The three day show attracted good entries from all over New Zealand and was held in excellent weather.


Results –



FEI CSI1* 1.4m: Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 1, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Graffiti MH 2, Steffi Whittaker (Christchurch) On the Point Eve 3, Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Ariados 4, Emily Hayward (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 5, Claire Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Fredrika RE 6.

ESNZ Premier League Horse Grand Prix: Melody Matheson (Hastings) Graffiti MH 1, Helen McNaught (Taupo) Kiwi Bird 2, Steffi Whittaker (Christchurch) Eros K 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 4, Nakeysha Lammers (New Plymouth) Resolution 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Gold Locks 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Fun House 1, Luke Myers (Marton) Te Urewera Magic 2, Tara Gower (Ohura) Ngahiwi Roany Pony 3, Isabella Hibell (New Plymouth) Pioneer Jade 4, Parys Marshall (New Plymouth) Spot You Later 5, Lily Moore (Hastings) Showtym Highlight 6.

FMG Young Rider Series: Olivia Dalton (Karaka) Master of Hossack 1, Steffi Whittaker (Christchurch) On the Point Eve 2, Olivia Dalton (Karaka) Cil Dara Bonaparte 3, Nicholas O’Leary (Wanganui) Obeone Kanobe 4, Elmo Jackson (Auckland) Sugarman 5, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Letano 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds & EquiFibre Junior Rider Series: Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Kiwi Silverkee 1, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Whiorau Ritchie 2, Blake Davis (Palmerston North) Socrates de la Vie Z 3, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Breeze On 4, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Glenbrooke Rich as Roses 5, Sarah West (Matamata) LC Talent 6.

Hinterland Amateur Rider Series: Paxton Conder (Matamata) La Fonteyn 1, Noni Morgan (Hastings) Starlight Discovery 2, Marcus Rose (Dannevirke) Kaipara Hold UP 3, Jessica Giles (Upper Hutt) Dining at Dusk 4, Charlotte Wing (Hastings) Mistress 5, Jo Andrews (Otaki) Ecxtacy 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds & EquiFibre Pro-Am Rider Series: Stephen Nickalls (Rangiotu) Letino 1, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 2, Amanda Illston (Masterton) Iguazu 3, Laura Knight (Palmerston North) Aria 4, Sarah Jocelyn (Wairarapa) Curioso 5, Emily Fraser (Palmerston North) Kiwi Sunray 6.

East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Rose Alfeld (Leeston) Eye Catcher NZPH, Drew Carson (Putaruru) Harlem Swing, Siobhan Ryan (Wainuiomata) Left Field and Jenna-Lee Rose (Dannevirke) Silent Witness =1.

Mitavite Speedi-Beet Six-Year-Old Series: Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Sun Flake 1.

Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series: Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Beyoncé, Rose Alfeld (Leeston) Cadenza NZPH 2, Daniel Webb (Hunterville) Centaur 3, Heloise Tolo (Wellington) Can’t Touch This NZPH 4, Amanda Illston (Masterton) Iguazu 5, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Glenbrooke Centarose 6.


Show Hunter Horses

Gyro Plastics HOYQ Junior High Points 1m: Ella Miranda (Feilding) Kinnordy Go Girl 1, Sally Ward (Waipukurau) Paradox 2.

The Ultimate Egg Co Amateur High Points 1m: Laura van Velthooven (Palmerston North) Sirocco Daisy 1, Rebecca Conole (Masterton) Private Benjamin 2, Kate Ward (Waipukurau) Thornfield Athenry 3, Ashleigh Forde (Hastings) My Gummi Bear 4, Jane Ward (Waipukurau) Meersbrooke Fire’n’Ice 5.

NRM HOYQ Open Horse High Points 1.1m: Laura van Velthooven (Palmerston North) Montbelle Donahue 1, Sarah Jocelyn (Wainuiomata) Faieska 2, Laura van Velthooven (Palmerston North) Sirocco Daisy 3, Hayley-Ann Oakley (Feilding) Carnival 4, Kate Ward (Waipukurau) Thornfield Athenry 5.


Show Hunter Ponies

Car Town Cat A HOYQ Open High Points 70cm: Maddie Murrell (Carterton) Dawn til Dusk 1, Zoe Oakley (Feilding) Pied Piper Alize 2, Kendra Fox (Carterton) Kaimai Huckleberry 3, Pia White (Masterton) Jubilee Master Card 4, To9mmie Day (Waikanae) Dunn in Style 5.

Burger King Cat B HOYQ Open High Points 80cm: Ella von Dadelszen (Waipukurau) Matai SB 1, Rosa Meyer (Otaki) JackPot 2, Jack Calder (Norsewood) Lloyd 3.

Aniwell HOYQ Cat C Open High Points 90cm: Hollie Falloon (Masterton) Farleigh Catterick 1, Kitty White (Masterton) Tallyho Beethoven 2, Freya Diggle (Wellington) Komets Victory 3, Emily Macintyre (Wellington) Heartbreakin Eloquence 4, Hollie Falloon (Masterton) Boy Wizard 5.


By Diana Dobson

October 23, 2018