A clutch of Kiwi riders are in Scotland chasing honours and the big prize money in the final of the Event Rider Masters Series.

Tim Price, who sits in third place on the leaderboard is entered in the ERM CIC3* aboard his long time campaigner Wesko. They were second in their last ERM start at Jardy and this fabulous 15-year-old 4* horse looks to have come back in better than ever form. Tim has 81 points on the leaderboard, with Chris Burton (AUS) at the front on 96 and Laura Collett (GBR) in second on 86.

Jonelle Price will compete aboard her 11-year-old black gelding Cloud Dancer II. Tim and Jonelle are ranked four and five in the world currently and both are on the New Zealand eventing team for the 2018 FEI World Equestrian Games.

The ERM class, where four days of competition are trimmed down to just two, has attracted 19 entries including world number one Oliver Townend. There is £50,000 in prize money across each of the six legs, with a £30,000 bonus for the series winner. Just the best four performances count in the final tally. The series got underway at Chatsworth International Horse Trials, followed by legs in Germany, France and the UK.

James Avery and his 10-year-old Mr Sneezy, who has been a new ride for him this year, are the sole Kiwis in the 47-strong CIC3* (section B) class.

The CCI3* has attracted a 25-strong field including James on Optimus Prime II who was recently fourth in the CIC3* at Cappoquin, Jonelle on Cooley Showtime and Tim on Pats Jester, who last year won the CCI3* at Ballindenisk and was recently top 10 in the CIC3* at Gatcombe Park.

Jonelle had a bit of heart-stopping moment during the first horse inspection when the nine-year-old Cooley Showtime was sent to the holding box but he was subsequently accepted by the ground jury.

Hannah Norvill is in the CCI2* aboard Magic Roundabout IV with James competing in the CCI1* on Seaflower.

The horse details:
Wesko – owned by the late Christina Knudsen and Tim Price
Cloud Dancer II – owned by the Marley and Me Syndicate
Mr Sneezy – owned by Tiny Clapham and Ian and Heidi Woodhead
Optimus Prime II – owned by Joe, Alex and Louis Giannamore
Cooley Showtime – owned by Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela
Pats Jester – owned by Kate Maitland, Therese Miller, Philip Hunt, Jo Preston-Hunt and Tim Price
Magic Roundabout IV – owned by Laurence Hunt and Sarah Stone
Seaflower – owned by Elizabeth Edwards


By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison