Tim and Jonelle Price both nabbed podium spots on the final day of competition at the Camphire International Horse Trials in Ireland.

Jonelle and Hester took out the CCI2* class, with Tim second and third aboard Kincooley Cruising and Ascona M respectively in the CCI3*.

Jonelle and Hester finished on 26.4 penalty points, adding just .4 of a time penalty from the cross country to their dressage score. Twenty penalties added in the cross country were removed on protest when video footage showed Jonelle and Hester had been hoof perfect through a jump. James Avery and Mr Sneezy were second, just .4 behind them on 26.8 after adding nothing to their dressage effort. Eighteen of the original 22 combinations completed the event.

Tim will be ruing his some pesky showjumping faults – he picked up four faults in the aboard Kincooley Cruising which saw them finish on 35.1, with winner Cathal Daniels (IRE) and Sammy Davis Junior, who also took a rail, on 32.8. Tim and Ascona M had eight faults in the final phase to finish the day on 35.6 in third spot. Jesse Campbell and Cleveland also added faults, but placed fourth on 38.1. Blyth Tait and Dassett Courage finished on 42.8 in seventh place.

James and Optimus Prime were fourth in the CIC3* with their 35.9 penalty point effort, with Tim seventh aboard Ringwood Sky Boy on 46.5 and eighth on Bango with 46.9. Jonelle and Cooley Showtime were 19th on 84.9.

The cross country proved particularly difficult in the CIC3* with James one of just two combinations to come home clear and inside time. Six combinations were eliminated and five withdrawn. Padraig McCarthy (IRE) and Mr Chunky won the class on 27.2.


The horse details:
Dassett Courage – owned by Thomas Barr, Sally Grant and Blyth Tait
Kincooley Cruising – owned by Susan Lamb
Ascona M – owned by Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela
Kindred Spirit II – owned by the Kindred Spirit Syndicate
Leo Distinction – owned by Julia and Fiona Fraser, Jane Lovell-Smith and Blyth Tait
Ringwood Sky Boy – owned by Varenna Allen, Robert Taylor and Tim Price
Bango – owned by Numero Uno Syndicate
Mr Sneezy – owned by Tiny Clapham and Ian and Heidi Woodhead
Hester – owned by Lucy Nelson
Solo – owned by John Bodeham
Seaflower – owned by Elizabeth Edwards

By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison