There’s a clutch of Kiwis at the top of the CCI3* this morning thanks to some pretty slick cross country riding at the Camphire International Horse Trials in Ireland.

Tim Price and Ascona M have taken the lead after a faultless cross country round to remain on their 27.6 penalty point dressage score. Jesse Campbell and Cleveland have moved up to third on 29.1, with Tim and Kincooley Cruising in fourth on 31.1 and Blyth Tait aboard Dassett Courage in sixth on 34.8.

The cross country proved a challenge for many, with just nine of the 32-strong field coming home clear and inside time. Jonelle Price and Kindred Spirit II were eliminated, along with three other combinations including the dressage leader Alex Hua Tian (CHINA) aboard Don Geniro.

Tim remains well in contention in the CIC3* where he is still in second spot aboard Ringwood Sky Boy and fifth on Bango after the dressage and showjumping phases. Sky Boy was all clear to remain on his dressage score of 27.3 while Bango added four faults to finish the day on 31.7. James Avery and Optimus Prime also took a rail but remain in 10th spot on 35.9. Jonelle and Cooley Showtime are in 17th on 41.7 with Blyth and Leo Distinction are on 47 penalty points in 21st. Padraig McCarthy (IRE) and Mr Chunky still lead the field with their 26.8 effort.

James and Mr Sneezy have taken the lead in the CCI2* thanks to their clean and clear cross country effort. The Kiwi combination sit on 26.8 penalty points. Jonelle and Hester, who were the overnight leaders coming into the cross country, picked up an unfortunate 20 faults plus time to slip to 13th spot on 46.4.

There were just three combinations to go clear and inside time on the cross country. Eighteen of the 22-strong field remain in the hunt.

It wasn’t as smooth going for James in the CCI1* where he picked up a 20 and time penalties to concede his lead aboard Seaflower. Hollie Swain and Solo are the best of the Kiwis in the field with their 41 penalty point tally. They were clear but added 7.2 time on the cross country. Baptiste Salaun (FRA) and Api du Libaire lead the 29-strong field on 31.3.

Jonelle and Grappa Nera have placed 15th in the CIC2* after finishing on 51, with Virginia Thompson and Star Nouveau not far behind in 18th on 53.3. Jesse Campbell and Diachello finished on 117.2. The original 45 entries were whittled down to 37 by the end of the competition. Kevin McNab (AUS) and Willunga won the class, finishing on their dressage score of 30.6.

The event winds up tomorrow with the final phases across the grades.


The horse details:
Dassett Courage – owned by Thomas Barr, Sally Grant and Blyth Tait
Kincooley Cruising – owned by Susan Lamb
Ascona M – owned by Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela
Kindred Spirit II – owned by the Kindred Spirit Syndicate
Leo Distinction – owned by Julia and Fiona Fraser, Jane Lovell-Smith and Blyth Tait
Ringwood Sky Boy – owned by Varenna Allen, Robert Taylor and Tim Price
Bango – owned by Numero Uno Syndicate
Mr Sneezy – owned by Tiny Clapham and Ian and Heidi Woodhead
Hester – owned by Lucy Nelson
Solo – owned by John Bodeham
Seaflower – owned by Elizabeth Edwards

By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison

29th July 2018