Christchurch rider Tegan Fitzsimon would be pleased of her decision to stay in the North Island for the Waitemata Showjumping show at Woodhill Sands. Fizsimon dominated in the Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Horse Grand Prix at the weekend taking the win on Windemere Cappuccino and also notching second on Double J Monarch.

The win comes off the back of success at Horse of the Year for Fitzsimon and Windemere Cappuccino where the combination took out the prestigious Seven Year Old Title.

Fitzsimon’s game plan was simple – keep the horses consistent and in one piece for the end of the season. She was able to achieve this in part thanks to the Brookby based Hawkeswood family who have hosted Fitzsimon and her team for the weeks between Horse of the Year and the Waitemata Show.

“The aim for the show was just to keep them jumping well and consistently before Series Finals so I can finish them all on a good note!” She says.

Fitzsimon feels confident taking her team of three into the Glistening Waters Series Finals in Masterton this weekend. After winning the Mitavite Six Year Old Series with Windemere Cappuccino last season, she will be hoping to repeat her performance in Purepine Shavings Seven Year Old Series. Trailing only by four few points behind Lucy Fell and Faratona, she’s in with a chance.  

Fitzsimon has her sights set on next season already. Her plan is to return to the North Island next year with her team of four to focus on the World Cup Series. The team will consist of her usual three – Double J Monarch, Windermere Cappuccino and Alacazam MH plus a new ride Campari, a five year old by Corofino II owned and bred by the Tapley Family.



Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Horse Grand Prix:  Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch), Windermere Cappuccino 1, Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Double J Monarch 2, Hayden James (Australia) James Continue 3, Daniel Blundell (Havelock North) Athena NZPH 4, Glen Beal (Auckland) All Expenses of Renton 5, Danielle Maurer (Auckland)  Madam Coco 5, James Cottle (Auckland) Oracle WT 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Ally Carson (Putaruru) Tiger Tale LS 1, Tyla Hacket (Waikato) The Dreamer 2, Maddison Greatorex (Waipu) Spotified 3, Charli Forsythe (Paeroa) Rapido Zin Zan 4, Karis Spurway (New Plymouth) Delta Le Camourflage 5, Karis Spurway (New Plymouth), Kabo Capesh 6.

FMG Young Rider Series: Elmo Jackson (Auckland) Next 1, Elise Stables (Hamilton) SE Rumour Has It 2, Keean Cooper (Te Kauwhata)  LT Eloquence 3, Elmo Jackson (Auckland)  Sugarman 4, Emelia Forsyth (Auckland) Illustrious 5, Bryony Smith (Waimuku) Ngahiwi Warrior 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Junior Rider Series: Colleen Crous (Waitemata) Orames Girl VDL 1, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Whiorau Ritchie 2, Olivia Dalton (Auckland) Master of Hossack 3, Sarah West (Matamata) Erl Grey II 4, Emelia Forsyth (Auckland) Henton Serenade 5, Samantha Maguire (Tuakauu) Starlight Daytona 6.  

Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Pro Am Series: Rebecca Roigard (Auckland) Gazelle 1, Karen Riddle (Waikato) LC Talent 2, India Causebrook (Auckland) Westminster Rock 3, Kylee McCambridge (Waikato) Chicago 4, Laura McGregor (Auckland) High Command 5, Tim Featherstone (Northland)  Kiwi Supakee 6.

Caledonian Holdings Amateur Rider Series: Craig Sullivan (Waitemata) Weiti Ontario 1, Julia Johnston Starlight (Waikato) Dalaman 2, Amy Gravatt (Northland) Dubrovnak 3, Jane Burmester (Waitemata) Corpus K 4, Jacob Razak (Auckland)  Hirondemme 5, Lynette Jackson Auckland)  Fortissimo 6.

Main-Events Young Rider Series: Bryony Smith Ngahiwi  (Waimauku) Indigo 1, Laura Hilhorst (Pukeatua)  LC Underberg 2,