There have been changes to the placings in two title classes at the Horse of the Year following protests relating to horse ownership.

The Land Rover Horse of the Year Pro Am class has received a shake up with two riders losing their placings and the crown was today awarded to Sally Clark (Dannevirke) and Victoria’s Secret.

The combination finished second on the day to James Cottle (Karaka) on Oracle WT but a protest was lodged after the class.  Article 143 of the EZNZ General Regulations relates to protests received at an event. The protest, received in conjunction with  Article 2.1 of the Pro Am Series conditions within the ESNZ Jumping Rules, was upheld. The rule states that riders in a Pro-Am class must be aboard horses that are registered with ESNZ in their own name as owner, part owner or registered lessee.

Also losing her placing is Anna Trent (Te Horo) aboard Corodette Xtreme, she had finished third originally.

A similar fate has befallen the minor placings in the Wade Equine Coaches Amateur Rider Final with Olivia Crozier (Canterbury) on La Fonteyn having her placing and points removed as a result of a protest.

The appeal period for those affected by the rulings has now passed.

The amended results are –

GJ Gardner Pro Am Rider of the Year: Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 1, Tamara Silcock (Nelson) Steel Magnolia 2, Lucia Voss (Kawerau) Grand Coeur 36 3, Shelley Ross (Helensville) Onward 4, Louise Bowie (Pahiatua) Kiwi Hammer 5, Vicki Ridley (Pukekohe) Mosaic II 6.

Wade Equine Coaches Amateur Rider Final: Kate Cavanagh (Geraldine) Wallflower 1, Anna Stephen (Martinborough) Lollipop SP 2, Kaleigh Kent (Otane) Double J Sponge Bob Square Pants 3, Kelly Hawkeswood (Auckland) Larinium LS 4, Shelagh Nolan (Gisborne) Ngahiwi Eyeza Blue 5, Dana Sutton (Palmerston North) Down Wind 6.