Crean Untouchable at SCNO

Published 11 October 2017

By Devon van Til 

Photo credit Sophie Simson Photography

The South Island show jumping season commenced at South Canterbury North Otago Spring Has Sprung Show oat the weekend 30 September - 1 October. One up and comer got off to a particularly stellar start winning both the top pony classes.

Holly Crean has stepped up with her pony Ellen Vanin Untouchable to win the Country TV Pony Grand Prix - her first ever attempt at this level. With the support from knowledgeable parents Lyndall and Mark, who is also a Candidate National Course Designer, Crean has brought this pony through the grades herself.

The quality of jumping was high in the Country TV Pony Grand Prix with half the class jumping double clear. First of the clears to jump in the second round was Grace Manera and Rednalhgih Cowan who set a respectable time of 48.64 seconds.

Crean held the lead until the last to go proving she was untouchable stopping the clock in 41.50 seconds. Crean rounded off the weekend also winning the Canterbury Saddlery Pony Mini Prix aboard her second pony Code Spree.

A number of last season's junior riders stepped up to compete in the FMG Young Rider class. The two clears came from South Island Junior Rider team members Florence Tapley aboard Ngahiwi Call Girl and Jaimee Bird aboard Double J Wilma.

Tapley lay down the challenge in the jump off going clear in 42.13 seconds, but Bird used her horses agility to come home in 38.31 seconds to take the win.

Even with a number stepping up to young rider, the field was still strong in the Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider class.

Five made it through to the jump off with lucky last to go Tayler Nalder fighting for the win. The previous rider Molly Buist-Brown aboard the nimble Prestige jumped the first clear in a smart time of 34.22 seconds. Nalder had to give it her all to guide the much larger Icebreaker II around clear in 32.47 seconds.



SCNO Spring Has Sprung Show

Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Horse Grand Prix: Chris Harris (West Melton) Glenbrooke Archie Bunker 1.

Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix: Katie Meredith (Ohoka) Westgrove GNZ 1, Todd Magner (Lincoln) Awatuna Jonesy 2, Tegan Fitzsimon (West Melton) Alacazam MH 3, Tegan Fitzsimon (West Melton) Double J Monarch 4, Steffi Whittaker (Springston) Eros K 5, Tegan Fitzsimon (West Melton) Windermere Cappuccino 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Holly Crean (Mt Selfe) Ellen Vanin Untouchable 1, Grace Manera (West Melton) Rednalhgih Cowan 2, Caitlin Adams (West Melton) Sushi 3, Grace Manera (West Melton) Tallyho Scoundrel 4, Jordan van Miltenburg (Southland) Harrison James 5, Olivia Adams (West Melton) Mr Black Magic 6.

FMG Young Rider: 1, Jaimee Bird (Ashburton) Double J Wilma 1, Florence Tapley (Pigeon Bay) Ngahiwi Call Girl 2, Steffi Whittaker (Springston) Ngahiwi Cruise 3, Steffi Whittaker (Springston) Eros K 4, Makenzie Causer (Christchurch) Elleway GNZ 5, Olivia Brown (Southland) RH Kukumoa 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Pro Am: Emily Cammock (West Melton) Lewis1, Devon van Til (Woodend Beach) Winterberg 2, Louise Marriot (Rangiora) Concur 3, Nicole White (Invercargill) Lil LeRoux 4, Arabella Jarman (Ohoka) Pukatea Kokomo 5, Angela Lissington (Leithfield) Donala Dundee 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider: Tayler Nalder (Cust) Icebreaker ll 1, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Prestige 2, Olivia Harkerss (Leeston) Lacona Ammoe 3, Steffi Whittaker (Springston) Tribute OL 4, Carly Powell (Timaru) Tell Tale 5, Jordan van Miltenburg (Southland) Astek Reveal 6.

Caledonian Holdings Amateur Rider: Anna Marie Poole (Christchurch) Alfresco 1, Amy McMullan (Timaru) Silversmith 2, Lana McKay (Balfour) Silk Road 3, Anna Douglass (Timaru) St Henry 4, Bonnie Foley (Southland) The Affair 5, Kate Cavanagh (Geraldine) Vibrance 6.