Autumn Arrives at Waimate

Published 21 March 2017

By Devon van Til

Photo Credit - Rosa Douglass 

A frosty morning followed by a sunny day was the first of its kind for the South Island season at its penultimate show, the SCNO Autumn Show Jumping Festival 18-19 March.

Due to an unfortunate cancellation of their November show, the small, hard working committee carded another show to make up for it, which saw a number take advantage of an additional run.

Competition was strong in the Horse Mini Prix with three combinations through to the jump off. The experienced Chris Harris and Glenbrooke Archie Bunker notched the first double clear in 41.57 seconds to put the pressure on the last to go, Kelly Evans and Hammertime. Evans gave it her all and shaved a fraction off Harris’ time to finish in 39.29 seconds for the win.

Mary Wakeman and MJ Lubeck made an impressive step up to the Let’s Bale Pro Am, their first time competing at this level. The pair was one of three through to the jump off. First out event rider Larissa Srhoy and Rockquest achieved a good time in 41.53 seconds, but had an unlucky last rail.

Next out Gail Richardson on Eireann Bandoola was more cautious coming home clear, but in a slower 44.02 seconds. Wakeman last to go learnt from the mistakes of those before her and aced the jump off clear in 38.50 seconds to convincing win the class.

Two dedicated riders made the effort to travel to Waimate with their Double J horses after competing at HOY and it paid off. Harry Feast and Double J Bouncer won the FMG Young rider with the only clear round. Another clear jumping effort from Jaimee Bird and Double J Wilma saw them win the Lincoln University Junior rider with just one time fault.

The Caledonian Holdings Amateur Rider was as competitive as always with five combinations through to the jump off. The pressure showed with many faulting in the jump off except for Jacquita Farquhar and Rustic Moonlight, who were the eventual winners with the only double clear of the class.



Horse Mini Prix: Kelly Evans (Cave) Hammertime 1, Chris Harris (West Melton) Glenbrooke Archie Bunker 2, Nicole White (Invercargill) LC Samson 3, Gail Richardson (Southland) Eireann Bandoola 4.

Pony Mini Prix: Rosa Buist-Brown (Burnham) Junior Disco 1, Georgia Allison (Oxford) Pioneer High Jinx 2.

FMG Young Rider: Harry Feast (West Metlon) Double J Bouncer 1, Grace Percy (Glenorchy) Kiwi Spirit 2, Morgan Baddeley (Christchurch) Mr Jerrico 3.

Let’s Bale Pro Am: Mary Wakeman (Tuahiwi) MJ Lubeck 1, Gail Richardson (Southland) Eireann Bandoola 2, Larissa Shroy (Loburn) Rockquest 3, Kelly Evans (Cave) Hammertime 4, Kerry Winterbourn (West Melton) Gingerlily 5, Angela Ruddenklau (Christchurch) Arovet Li 6.

Lincoln University Junior Rider: Jaimee Bird (Ashburton) Double J Wilma 1, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Prestige 2, Georgie Goodworth (Cust) Golden Mile 3, Bridget Collins (Palmerston) Mr Gregory 4, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) McClintock La Tessa 5, Carly Powell (Timaru) Tell Tale 6.

Caledonian Holdings Amateur Rider: Jacquita Farquhar (Otago) Rustic Moonlight 1, Harriet Gardiner (Timaru) Artic Invader 2, Sonia Mckerchar (Fairlie) Blue Lagoon 3, Anna Douglass (Timaru) St Henry 4, Candace Kingsbury (Ashburton) Miss Serendipity 5, Amy McMullan (Timaru) Silversmith 6.