Eventing Series Taking Shape

Published 11 October 2017

  • DSE Cluny - K93_332 - Alison Price.JPG

    Donna Edwards-Smith & DSE Cluny Taupo CIC3* winners 2017

    Photo by Spot On Photo

  • Equissage Logo Master 2014.jpg
  • mitavite_logo - Copy.jpg


Persistent drizzly rain at the Fiber Fresh National Equestrian Centre at Taupo on Sunday meant time faults were the order of the day on Robbie MacLean’s 3* cross-   country course, which provided competitors with a big, bold, but straightforward challenge to start the season.


Fortunes were mixed, with both Donna Edwards-Smith, who led the NRM CIC3* class on DSE Mr Hokey Pokey by a whisker from Amanda Pottinger on Just Kidding, relinquishing their top spots. Mr Hokey Pokey lost a shoe early on the course, Donna saying, “It flew past my head after landing over fence 6,” so she pulled up and retired rather than soldier on in the slippery conditions.


In Amanda’s case, Just Kidding remembered the ducking he received at the same fence at last year’s NRM three-day event, despite going on to win that competition. He stopped at the roll top into the water, after which Amanda trotted him round in the water before attempting it again, and although successful they had incurred 20 jump penalties.


The remaining competitors all completed without jump faults, but all with double figure time penalties, Donna winning on Gay McClunie’s DSE Cluny with 21.6 time penalties and a final score of 75.1 penalties. Andy Daines was second on Spring Panorama with a final score of 76.4, and Samantha Felton third on Ricker Ridge Rui with 77.1 penalties, after the fastest round with 14 time penalties.


Geoff Sinclair, the FEI Technical Delegate from Australia, was impressed with the quality of the venue, saying, “It’s a great place for the sport, the ground is excellent, which is so important for the horses, and the riders coped remarkably well with the conditions.”


This was the first leg of the ESNZ Eventing Super League for the 2017-18 year, with Donna on DSE Cluny and Andy on Spring Panorama taking the major points, ahead of the second leg at Arran Station, the Silver Fern Farms property at Takapau, on 28/29 October.


Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata), DSE Cluny, 32 pts; Andy Daines (Kumeu), Spring Panorama, 30 pts; Samantha Felton (Matangi), Ricker Ridge Rui, 6 pts; Edwards-Smith, DSE Tangolooma, 6 pts; Renee Faulkner (Papakura), Rubinstar HH, 6 pts.



Cherie Jaques leads the Equissage Pro-Am series on Black Gem after three starts, ahead of Megan Finlayson on Greensleeves. Chanel Griffiths (nee Campbell) and Astek Guardsman are third with Judy Hatfull and Timely in fourth position. All four combinations were competing at Taupo in either the 1* or 2* classes.


Cherie Jaques (Otorohanga), Black Gem, 49 pts; Megan Finlayson (Kerikeri), Greensleeves, 41 pts; Chanel Griffiths (Auckland), Astek Guardsman, 38 pts; Judy Hatfull (Rotorua), Timely, 34 pts.



The lead in the Mitavite Young Rider series is shared by Greer Caddigan on the former Campbell Draper star Mr Mancini, and Jeffrey Amon on JA Take a Shot, both of whom have had three starts. Sophie Alexander is a distant third on World Famous, with Greer in fourth spot on Gymnastik Showdown, and Charlotte Edwards fifth on Coroglen Ziva.


Greer Caddigan, Mr Mancini, 39 pts; JeffreyAmon, JA Take a Shot, 39 pts; Sophie Alexander, World Famous, 18 pts; Caddigan, Gymnastik Showdown, 16 pts; Charlotte Edwards, Coroglen Ziva, 15pts.



Five riders share the lead in the PEL Amateur Rider series, so this will be an interesting one to follow. They each have 16 points, so will all be polishing their dressage before their next starts, and may be tempted to travel further afield than originally planned in search of extra points.


They are Rowan Dixon, Belmont Bolero; Shannon Galloway on both Airthrey Jean Genie and Day Walker; Ingrid Herdson, Mr Tambourine Man; Susan Le Mesurier, Sparky Malarkey. Watch this space!



The Amon family from Murupara are certainly making their mark, with Jeffrey’s younger brother Samuel holding the two top spots in the Junior Rider series, on Trojan Warrior and RM Let It Be. Behind him South Islander Annabelle Jones on the seasoned campaigner Braxton Boy and Caroline Howell on Telestory share third place.


Samuel Amon, Trojan Warrior, 31 pts; Samuel Amon, RM Let It Be, 21 pts; Annabelle Jones, Braxton Boy, 19 pts; Caroline Howell, Telestory, 19 pts.



Eleisha Walls on Daimler Benz leads the Grassroots series, from Jenny Pearce on Top Steel, with Jen Buchanan and Zip It Up now third ahead of former winners Steph Sole and Power Play.


Eleisha Walls, Daimler Benz, 20 pts; Jenny Pearce, Top Steel, 17 pts; Jen Buchanan, Zip It Up, 16 pts; Steph Sole, Power Play, 15 pts.



Virginia Caro


Nominate yourself for a Series Competition via Equestrian Entries